Thanksgiving does exist outside the USA! Kinda...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
November 27th 2007
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Hey Hey! So here starts finals week... my last week of education in Buenos Aires. My spanish tests have me freaking out! But, I dont think that its really hit me that Im leaving here yet... theres still so much to do!

So Thanksgiving in Argentina... was great! I had to explain to my host family exactly what it was and I still think they dont grasp what an awsome holiday it is despite the fact that it meant the masacre of our native people... So anyway, We found this restraunt (that Im glad we didnt know about until now because it would have taken all my money) called Kansas. We had turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, creamed spinach, and PECAN PIE! Oh and a margarita... It was amazing! I was so full it really felt like Thanksgiving, the warm weather aside. I heard it dropped like 40 degrees over night in Texas! (I talked to everyone at home on the phone and it really made me miss my amazing family and got me thinking more about all my wonderful friends! I miss you guys all so much!)

After an evening of feeling really American Katie and I desided the next day to go to TGIFridays. mmmm philly burger... The food was well deserved after Katie and I sat at the post office for hours to get a package from her mom (containing great US snacks like Little Debbies and reeses!) and then me getting my yellow fever shot for Bolivia. I didnt cry like the poor little boy that went before me, and even though it was a public clinic and the shot was free and even though it looked a little shady, the office was very clean.

Not much has gone on the past week or so... I got my teeth looked at (I thought Id cracked a molar) and the dentist was really nice, pretty cute, and assured me I was fine. OH! I got my hair cut a few weeks ago, nothing major just a trim, but the entire thing with an upgraded shampoo was only 10 bucks! The other crazy thing... most all stylist are men and not gay ones. I also didnt get a mullet even though they are high fashion here. Oh well.

We spent most of this weekend enjoying the beautiful weather by sitting at the park all day. There are always tons of people to watch and live music to listen to. Not to mention the jugglers and ribbon dancers (yea ribbon dancers, like the 90s toy!). We had "hot stuffed bread" think calzone but with more bread and less stuffing... sooooo good. We literally layed in the grass for hours. It was fabulous. Although going 2 days without a substancial meal, just snaking, is not so good.

Well, after this week its off to Iguazu Falls, the back to BsAs for a few days, a loong bus trip to Mendoza, and the good bye to Argentina on the 14th and hello Peru! Dont worry Ill keep ya updated...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.1kb