"Fat people are harder to kidnap"


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
April 28th 2013
Published: April 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

One thing I forgot to mention about our 'Sail Away' yesterday, 30 minutes after we left there was an announcement that we were turning around...some kind of medical emergency. We never knew what happened. I believe the captain made up the time during the night because the boat was really rocking and rolling. Kenny and I don't get motion sickness so the movement kind of lulls us to sleep. Kenny got up first and he took a walk on the ship. He came back and I woke up. He said he didn't see but 12 people around the ship. I forgot to say that the average age of the guests on this ship is probably around 75. I really am serious. That doesn't bother me, it makes for a quiet time; also this cruise is not very full. No lines for anything. It is the end of April and we are going to Ireland!

I got up and we got lattes and breakfast and ate on our balcony. We slit an omelette; had fruit, bacon and a croissant. Afterwards I blogged and Kenny was hoping to play ping pong with someone. He went up to wherever that is and no one was there! He read for a little while and then we decided to go to the deck. We stopped at the Cafe to get a coffee for Ken. This is where everyone is! I'm not kidding when I say it looks like the lobby of a retirement home. People knitting, walkers, scooters, wheel chairs. I should have taken a picture. It's a beautiful day and warm- which won't last as we head northeast in the Atlantic. Kenny took a swim (heated) and we relaxed for awhile. We saw Annie and Bobbie and we were all ready for lunch. Bobbie and Kenny got burgers and fries again and Annie and I went to the buffet- salads, fruits, rolls. Afterwards we all went up to the sun deck; the guys went looking for a Sports Bar while Annie and I enjoyed the sun. We were laying on the deck where they have the big movie screen and they were playing "The Love Boat". So funny! The guys joined us and we went swimming (except Bobbie). The waves in the pool were so intense it felt like we were in the ocean. Annie got out after a few minutes and Kenny and I swam some laps. It was so much work with the waves; a lot of fun. We then went to the hot tub and ordered drinks. For a long time it was only the three of us (Bobbie was reading in the shade) so very enjoyable. When a couple from New York arrived and immediately started complaining about the temperature of the water, Annie and I got out. We sunbathed for a while. When Kenny got out of the hot tub we went back to our room. He took a shower and dressed for dinner. He decided to go get us a latte. I got in the shower. When he got back he was laughing and said he had a story. He saw Annie and Bobbie at the cafe. Bobbie was wearing a t-shirt that said- "Fat people are harder to kidnap". While on the elevator, it stopped on a floor and this very large man and his wife got on. The guy was reading Bobbie 's t-shirt. He says to Bobbie-"I don't get it". Annie explained (and trying not to laugh) well if someone weighs a lot, it would be difficult to carry them off if you were trying to kidnap them. He said, "oh, yeah"

As I was finishing up getting ready, I accidentally grabbed the hot end of my curling iron and burned my hand. Fortunately we had ice in the little 'frig in our room. Ken had to help me finish getting ready. When we got to our table, we immediately asked for ice. As long as I kept ice on it it was bearable. At one point our server suggested using the standing champagne bucket. I tried it but it was too tall so I just continued my method of holding ice to it with a washcloth. They kept replenishing the cloths for me. Our server said he would call 911 on the ship for me. I said "NO", it wasn't that bad. He did suggest that we go to the medical office after dinner, saying they have some aids for burns. After a nice dinner of scallop and shrimp cocktail, red snapper and key lime pie we headed to the infirmary. It was closed and a sign on the door said if you needed help you can ring the bell- for a fee of course. I decided NOT to do that. The ice was working and I'm not sure what else they could do.

We headed to the theater for the performance.: Multi Instrumentalist Den West. He played the acoustic guitar, the electric guitar, the steel guitar, the 5 string Bango and the mandolin. He was extremely talented. His wife joined him for a few songs for vocals-she was just ok. It was a great performance, it really was. Afterwards we headed back to our room. We both read our books then fell asleep to the sounds of the waves.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.495s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb