Day 54 Whitsundays


Advertisement
Oceania
November 21st 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We wandered down in shocking heat for how early it was to the port to go on our sailing trip to the Whitsundays. We received a fruit platter on arrival to the boat and introduction to the 3 staff members. They even chill the goon for you. Positive impressions from the start. We set off and were taken to this spot known for seeing turtles.




Unfortunately we had to wear stinger suits on this boat. I don't think there is anything less flattering than a wetsuit personally and I wanted to look good for the turtles you know. What I don't understand about these stinger suits is they leave your hands and feet exposed which I would have thought would have been the places most likely to be stung. Nonetheless attire aside we got to see some turtles. They were amazing and just chilling around probably drunk off of jellyfish. This is a main staple of their diet and apparently they do get a bit high/drunk off it. We managed to swim along after one for a while along the beach. So happy I got to see them. They are exactly the calm beautiful creatures I thought they'd be.



Next snorkel trip was more about the coral and is an infamous spot for the abundance of fish around. The sometimes scary, sometimes nice tour guide who guided the dingy boat made them flock around you by throwing food around you. The greedy fish will swamp around you and all you can really see is just fish right up in your face. We paddled around here looking at them and once we most ungracefully hoisted back into the dingy, I decided it be funny to surround others with fish by throwing food too.



We then sailed to Turtle bay near Whitehaven beach. Here you see turtles bobbing up for air and some last glimpses of the sun before it sets. So we played spot the turtle sat on the deck for a while while the sun set. Reminded me how nice it was to be anchored up in the middle of nowhere with just a little breeze. We had dinner and sipped away on goon watching the amazing stars sparkling up ahead and the phosphorescence sparkling in the water below. It was really amazing to be honest.



My single bed was situated in a little cabin above a couple in the double. With no aircon it was absolutely sweltering, I woke in the early hours thinking I was going to be sick. It was so hot. I scared the beejesus out of the girl below me, although I think I managed to avoid stepping on her. I tried to sleep on deck but I hadn't brought enough sheets and it wasn't particularly comfortable. I decided to grin and bear it and try an sleep in the sauna bed again. I managed to for a couple hours and then I got up. I'm still envious of the guy who managed to bag the hammock on the top of the deck. He probably slept the best of anyone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb