Day 53 Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 20th 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We headed from our stop near Townsville today onto Airlie beach. Naturally we had a couple stops. One of which was in a little town called Bowen. The lady at the information centre was super nice and I kind of feel bad that we didn't give Bowen much time. We did however take her advice and go up this hill and grab a coffee from the café up there. The views were amazing. Plus the ice coffee (our new thing) again had cream and icecream on it. Australia really has this ice coffee thing down. That's all the time we gave Bowen unfortunately but don't tell the lovely old lady who'd given us enough stuff to do to be entertained in Bowen for a few days.



After ridiculously long queues upon check in to Base's camping place, we headed to the lagoon in Airlie beach. We sunbathed and swam in the lagoon which is quite nice really. I especially enjoyed watching a seagull rummage into someone's shopping bag by prodding at it until it made it away with a whole bread roll. I really should of stopped it but it was too funny. Plus the crafty seagull probably would have jabbed my foot off. Nice to see the seagull's are as greedy as back home. Although far less battered up.



After this we wandered around town which resulted in me buying to bikinis from jay jay's. Oopsy but woman currently cannot live on one bikini alone after accidentally leaving my other one on the washing line in a jungle. Stuff happens. Refuelled under the street lamp by Mr E that we happened to have parked next to, which actually is pretty useful really. Then I headed out to meet Lior who we had met previously in Cairns. Took quite a search to find her but after her finishing her free champagne from a bar called Down Under, we wandered onto this karaoke place. I've never watched so much karaoke in my life. After peaking with hearing a group sing Hakuna Mata, we followed the direction of the crowds and promoters' advice towards the phoenix.



The only thing that kept me there was that they gave me a raffle ticket with the prospect of earning some money at 1 am. The floors were sticky and it was filled with youngsters. I know they are only 18 but it just makes me feel old. Obviously I didn't win the almost 100% fake raffle so after they announced it I made my way back to bed. Always worth staying for prizes though just incase.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb