Day 55 Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 22nd 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast and getting ourselves sorted out we took the dingy to the shore in which a short walk would lead you to a beautiful view of Whitsundays beaches but also down to them. They are nominated in the top 5 beaches of the world. Due to the high silicone count, the sand is so fine and so white. We made it too the beaches and it is actually stunning. The sand looks like snow practically. It is so soft to walk on. A girl behind me actually said “its like walking on cotton wool” and that pretty much accurately describes it to be honest.



Due to how fine it is, they tell you to polish your jewellery, exfloliate your whole body and wash your hair with it. I don't know if the hair thing is a joke enabling them to watch people rub sand all in their hair but it certainly made my hair softer. It also had the added bonus of making me look like I had huge blonde dreadlocks whilst it was in my hair. Pretty weighty one but it was awesome. Before anyone worries I shan't be returning with dreads because the sand made me think I really pull them off.



The sand wasn't the only beautiful thing about this beach, but the water itself was so crystal clear. Due to the heat this is where we spent the majority of the time as we were there. We managed to clock a small shark and a stingray too.



We got the dingy back after a couple hours, which was probably wise as we were all roasting on the beach as the shade was fully stocked up with people. We attempted to sail back without the use of the engines but unfortunately the wind was very very weak so we had to use the engine. The heat in the cabin and the lack of shade on deck meant I could feel myself burning. It was probably the strongest sun I have ever felt. Managed to get pretty burnt despite regular applications of suncream.



We got back to shore in the afternoon, showered and sorted ourselves out. Then we headed to stay nearer a place near Mackay, weird passing through it, felt like I owned the place. I also managed to spot my first alive wallaby by the side of the road. Most of the time sadly you just see roadkill. They have the cutest little faces.



We stayed in this place which was essentially by a field behind the back of a bar in the middle of nowhere. First time I felt like I was actually in the outback. Being next to a farm it was bug central and that combined with sunburn was not the best combo. Throughout the evening there was weird noises coming from the nearby huge tree that sounded like a duck was being strangled. We experienced our first timtam to these beautiful sounds. Its basically very similar to a penguin but lacking in the joke. Enjoyable nonetheless.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb