Safe and sound!


Advertisement
Oceania
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thank you for your concern - I'm safe and sound! The earthquake was terrible - people here are talking about nothing else. Tragic. I was due to stay with some friends in Christchurch but so far have been unable to find out if they are OK.

I didn't like Wellington much so only stayed one night there and then went to Plimmerton just outside. I stayed in a hostel which was literally 10 feet from where the last scene of Lord of the Rings was filmed - where Fredo sailed into the sunset to meet his maker! Apparently they stood and watched it being filmed!

The ferry crossing to the South Island was wonderful - more like a cruise. The weather was fantastic and the scenery in the fiords is breathtaking - completely impossible to describe. I've had a lovely time so far in South Island. Today I am in Marahau in the Abel Tasman National Park - been kayaking (in quite choppy sea) from 08.00 a.m. 'til 5.00 p.m. It was great fun. It is so remote up here that I have not had a cellphone network connection for two days and did not have access to a computer so have been unable to contact anyone 'til now so sorry for the late confirmation that I'm OK.

Tomorrow I'm walking along the river - then going on to Punakaika for the night. Then two nights in Hokitika. My plan then was to go to Christchurch but I'll go over to the West Coast and do Christchurch another time. Main activities around here are trekking, cycling and kayaking. Cycling is out for me though 'cos I can't do the hills! I seem to be spending a lot of time on the road here - every journey is an adventure with the mountain roads and the views - but it takes an age to get from one place to another. Car still behaving well but I'm still having differences with Satnav! Must go - money is running out! Love from Wendy xxx

Advertisement



23rd February 2011

So glad your ok!!! Sounds like your having a whale of a time over there! I do hope your friends are ok in Christchurch, but keep enjoying yourself Speak soon xxxx
23rd February 2011

Got the email Wend - glad you are OK, and will pass on your news to everyone in birders.....thanks for phoning too, it was lovely to hear your voice, and know that you are still having fun! If you keep all this exercise up, you'll be well fit by the time you get home!!
24th February 2011

phew!!!
So pleased your safe and sound!!! The press asked for us all not to clog the phone lines unnecessarily - and i knew you werent in Christchurch yet! Poor people. Lots of love Judy xxxx ps I would have jumped aboard frodos ship!!
24th February 2011

safe and sound
Glad you are ok, thanks for blogs lovely to hear you're enjoying yourself and keeping fit and now well brings back lots of memories. We went to Te Papa and on night safari to see Kiwis, glow worms, lizards and southern cross whilst in Wellington but very hilly. We also went up to Abel Tasman and to golden bay whilst staying at Nelson, lovely country. Enjoy west coast including glaciers watch out for sand flies and hope friends in Christchurch are ok

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1001.1kb