NZ Update


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 4th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I forget to tell you about my dolpin trip from Russell. We had a pod of about 30 dolphins playing around our boat for ages. The intention was to swim with them but they had two babies with them. Nevertheless it was a fabulous experience. Hope my video comes out OK. On the way to Raglan after my rest in Port Waikato I visited Nikau glow worm caves which involved picking my way deep underground for about 2 kms - some of this was done on my stomach with only about one foot headroom through cold muddy water! It was very hard and I still ache from it. I have a certificate to prove it.

Since then I have visited Hamilton Gardens, had a Mitai Maori experience (Maori village, show and meal - bit touristy but enjoyable), visited Rainbow Springs by night (saw kiwis), walked round an amazing but smelly thermal site, stroked a 7-month-old lion cub in a lovely widlife park, been to Rotorua Museum, walked round a village to see remains (not human!) buried by the 1886 earthquake, been to cinema (King's Speech - very good), had a day on the beach (burnt my tummy) and of course done lots of lovely sightseeing. The roads are very quiet and the scenery is stunning. When I started driving I kept stopping to take videos of beautiful sights but I soon get fed up of stopping! I'm in Rotorua just now and the lakes are very pretty. Moving on to Taupo tomorrow for more adventures! I think I have remembered everything! Weather is simply gorgeous. 'Til next time - love, Wendy xxx (I'm loving your comments - please keep them coming!)

Advertisement



5th February 2011

NZ
This new adventurous Mum is quite an eye-opener! Are they still shooting any big films there? Maybe you should join in as as extra! The new Indiana Jones :-) xxx
5th February 2011

Fabulous!!! I remember all of these places so well, and its so nice to be reminded of them! I know exactly what you mean about getting fed up with stopping for the scenery - me and Al felt the same!!! Your friend Mary from Coventry has been in touch and I've given her your email address - hope thats OK? And David has sold your car - he says he's emailed about it...has he? He was a way for ages in Australia so by the time we spoke to him, he'd sold it.....sorry, love! Keep enjoying....xxx
6th February 2011

wow I did not even know you could leave a comment !!! i tried on the bottom bit of screen but they have never been published or read ! hey mum sounds like you're having a whale of a time.....hope to see the dolphins on your video ! it all seems a million miles away form this horrid dreary weather we have been having.Soooo glad you're loving it......missing you very much. lots of love as always Sue Dave Jennifer Zoe and Richard xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
7th February 2011

Wonderful
Wendy - you are certainly making the most of your time in NZ. Your Bridge friends in Dunchurch regularly ask after you and are interested in what you are getting up to. We lived in the Waikato from Aug to Dec 1962 so know the central part of NZ quite well. Again envy, envy!
21st February 2011

Dear Nannar!!!!!
Nana!!!!! Really sorry I've only just found out how to get all your blogs up! But I've loved just reading them all it all sounds soooo amazing!! I'd have loved to have seen the dolphins that must have been lovely, hope you can see them on the video when we see you! Can't wait to see your pics too. Were all ok here just busy working and i'm getting around in my new car it's great can't wait to show you it NZ sounds amazing i definately want to go there at some point, bit disappointing about zion gardens and the lion man though but everything else sounds great! Look forward to reading your blogs now, we'll be going out for Zoe's birthday meal tonight. Speak soon Bye xxxxxxxx
21st February 2011

oooh it all sounds so exciting i wish i was there to do it all with you :-) :P xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb