Time for a rest!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waikato
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Had a wonderful time on the overnight cruise - highlight being night time kayaking off the boat - water lit up with the phospherous lights. It was so quiet, only ones in bay, lovely warm still night, lay back in the kayak and watched AMAZING stars - absolutely magical. I shall never forget it. I caught the first fish in a competition - it was too small thank goodness so they put it back - but it was enough to win me a free drink from the bar! Lovely group of people some of whom I met up with again the next day on the bus tour up the gorgeous 90-mile beach. Bus drove right down the beach and along the river bed. Quite an experience! But I have to own up and say I did not surf down the dunes - I saw the injuries on some people I met the day before!

Thursday night I stayed on a remote farm which was VERY basic but interesting! The farmer invited me to go and see to the animals with her - she drove this big 4-wheel motor bike down the gravel paths and fields at what seemed like 100 mph with me clinging on desperately at one side. I was petrified - really thought I was going to come off. I declined the second time! Looking back though it was great fun. Now having a lovely rest overlooking the Waikato river where it meets the sea. I'm in a beautiful clean cabin with all amenities - halfway up a mountain with another fantastic view. Enjoying "chilling out" for a few days and catching up with my reading and sleeping! Even have satellite TV and am enjoying American Idol. Tomorrow I'm going further south to a place called Raglan which is right on the beach. Weather back to being very warm and sunny now after a bit of a storm yesterday. I must say the weather has been lovely since I've been in Auckland - about 4 days rain in total. Must go - the "landlady" has just given me some apple pie and a cup of tea. Then I'm going for a walk down on the beach - there's a big fishing competition going on down there for the kids.
Love to all Wendy x



Advertisement



31st January 2011

Envy
Your description of the overnight cruise was magical. We too experienced NZ stars (no light polution!) and were thrilled. Not surprised about NZ welcome - they're famous for it. Are yo going south soon? The Waikato is interesting; Kaimai mountains and the beaches on the e coast great too. And the geothermals around Lake taupo will blow your mind, as well as stink to high heaven. Enjoy

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb