Melbourne


Advertisement
Oceania
April 23rd 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Melbourne at around 745 in the morning with the temperature somwhere in the mid twenties, a touch warmer than the low single digits when I left Christchurch that ment I was a little warm in my two tshirts, long pants, hoodie, rain jacket and wooly hat. And the fact it took around an hour and ahalf to get my bags and clear customs after having to prove that the bag of White powder in my bag was persil and not cocaine.

When I arrived at the hostel around 1 i went for a walk to find a cash machine 5 hours later I returned to the hostel still without cash and without any energy aswell.

The following day I went to the MCG to watch Richmond vs Melbourne in the ARL (Aussie rules). The game was close til half time but it ended up being a blowout. The 100000 seater MCG stadium was awesome though even if it was less than half full. went for a few beers in the evening with some of the people who went to the game.

The following day I went into the city in the day and bought a ticket for the rugby that evening and hada walk around the city. In the evening I went to the Melbourne Storm vs Manly Sea Eagles game in the NRL at the Etihad Arena the game was good but the atmosphere wasn't any where near as good as the Aussie rules game. There was 16500 people there apparently, i'm sure that the atmospheres better on a Saturday afternoon at hawcoat park in the middle of winter. Any way i still enjoyed it and was quite merry by the time I got back to the hostel.

Woke up rather hungover on Tuesday morning and so spent the best part of the day just relaxing and watching tele in the hostel. Went outside momentarily to have lunch at a cafe nearby but for the most part it was just a lazy day in.

Wednesday was also a slightly nothing day but I walked to the Olympic park which is where alot of the sports grounds are such as the MCG and the Rod Laver arena amongst others are housed. Returned and had a few beers in the hostel in the evening.

Thursday morning I'm checking out and headed for the airport to fly to Sydney



Advertisement



Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.5kb