Coffs Harbour


Advertisement
Oceania
January 11th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The BeachThe BeachThe Beach

Rough weather, rougher seas
After Sydney the plan was to go to Port Maquarie, but after turning up I couldn’t find any accommodation and had to get the next bus to Coffs Harbour…..lesson learnt, from now on I tend to book in advance!

The hostel in Coffs was good, I was lucky I got a bed in the dive shed which was airy and cool at night. I arrived at the hostel after a long and sticky walk at about 02:00. in the morning I got up and decided to do my PADI open water diving course. Luckily they fitted me into the course that started that day. The weather was pretty poor with rain on all but the last day, but it didn’t matter I spent 2 days in the classroom doing the theory. I did 5 dives in a swimming pool to get used to the equipment and going through safety drills, like running out of air or losing your mask or dropping your regulator (mouth piece).

My first sea dive was on an island called solitary split in a place called turtle cove. I did see any turtles but really enjoyed my time at the bottom (about 12m). The time
They don't mince their words hereThey don't mince their words hereThey don't mince their words here

if you want something said, say it with swear word
on the top however, was a different story. I blew chunks within 5 mins of the boat stopping! The sea was rough. Most people on the boat had the same problem. My breakfast was recycled and turned into fish food! I learnt my lesson on the second day and bough some kwells, sea sickness tablets, they did the trick. The second day diving was absolutely brilliant! The sun had his hat on and the fish came out to play. I saw 2 big turtles, a carpet shark, a school of 15 sting rays, clown fish (Nemo) and all their friends. I managed to stroke a big grouper.

I am now a certified diver! I am looking forward to my dives further up the cost in the Whitsundays and the outer reef at Cairns.

I have no time to waste, so off to Byron……..



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Jetty Dive CentreThe Jetty Dive Centre
The Jetty Dive Centre

Great course, Great people
My groupMy group
My group

i was the token male
Look mum, no sickLook mum, no sick
Look mum, no sick

feeling better on the second day
One of the Solitary IslandsOne of the Solitary Islands
One of the Solitary Islands

Where i did my second days diving
Lunch goes down...........Lunch goes down...........
Lunch goes down...........

....lunch stays down


16th January 2006

Watch out below!
Photos lookf fab and i expect the girl next to you was glad your lunch stayed down too!
16th January 2006

Wow now official dive operative
Nice one BJ looks like a whale of time, check you out with that barnet and stubble. Keep it real. TC

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb