Sydney part 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Manly
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After Christmas I moved onto manly, which is a beach off the northern mouth of Sydney. Manly is a great beach and full of people. My hostel was a little on the stuffy side with four sweaty lads in on small room with no ventilation! The people were fun though. I lulled the time away by laying on the beach, plating some volley ball and having a go at surfing.

New years eve was spent in the city centre, of course. I watch the first fireworks display, at 21:00, in Darling harbour. It was packed! After that I headed to the rocks and watched the midnight display from under the bridge. The display was massive and lasted for about 10 mins. After midnight I caught the first ferry back to Manly and meet a guy from the hostel and had a couple of shandies before retiring for the night. New years day was 45ÂșC! I spent the day running in and out of the sea to cool down!

After Manly, I went and stayed with Bill and Mary again for a few days. I took the opportunity to check out the aquarium and sky tower. By now the weather
Sydney New YearsSydney New YearsSydney New Years

The opra house and a lit up boat....its meant to be blurry (it arty and stuff)
had turned and the view from the top of the Sky Tower was limited. The aquarium was cool and I spent hours looking at the different displays. It gave me an idea of what I might see when doing my diving, hopefully I wont get so close to the sharks though!

I just wanted to say thanks to Bill and Mary for making me feel welcome during a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Just 10min walk from manly beachJust 10min walk from manly beach
Just 10min walk from manly beach

This is where I spent a 45 degree new years day
CrocCroc
Croc

At the aquarium
Sea LionSea Lion
Sea Lion

Laying back and chillin'
Daa da, Daa daDaa da, Daa da
Daa da, Daa da

Hopefully i wont meet one of these bad boys in the sea!
Ummm $10 SteakUmmm $10 Steak
Ummm $10 Steak

Me with Sean and Rob, splashing out on dinner


16th January 2006

Fish and Chips
The steak looks good but not as good as 'Lizzies! When am i going to see a Koala then?

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb