Long Live "The Diva"- The Melbourne Cup


Advertisement
Oceania
November 3rd 2005
Published: November 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Off to the RacesOff to the RacesOff to the Races

In front of the mounting paddock in my cup hat. Flemmington Racecourse where the Cup and Oaks are held is famous for its roses.
Hi everybody hope this finds you well. It has been a very exciting week here in Melbourne, because of the Spring Racing Carnival. As I have said before Australians are crazy about their sports, and the Melbourne Cup is one of the highlights of the year. The Cup was run on Tuesday, it would be our equivalent of the Kentucky Derby, but here it’s known as “the race that stops the nation.” I thought they were joking, but literally it is a race that stops the nation. It is considered a public holiday in Victoria and even the Australian Parliament stops for 20 minutes to watch the race. This year was especially a big deal, because Makybe Diva was attempting to win it for a third year in a row, which no horse had ever done before. Pretty much all of Melbourne had “Diva Fever” and I wont be surprised if I start seeing “Diva for Prime Minister” signs soon.

Before the Cup, I had never been to a proper horse race and I have to admit it was quite an experience. My roommate Kirsty and I got there around noon, and the place was already packed (I
Pru and Anita at our picnic sitePru and Anita at our picnic sitePru and Anita at our picnic site

Anita's hat blends in with the roses.
think the crowd size peaked at 107,000), so we only managed to get a top bleacher seat near the finish line. I didn’t bet that much, I just put about $5 on the Diva, and $5 on another horse who had a cool name in case of an upset. Fortunately the Diva pulled it off and won me $20. It was all very exciting though and the crowd was just going crazy because I think pretty much everybody there had put money on her.

My friend Anna then invited me to go to the Oaks with her friends Anita and Prue two days later. The Oaks is more famous for its fashions than it’s racing, but because of some iffy weather it was a lot less crowded. We arrived at around 8:30am, got a prime spot on the lawn and then had a traditional “Champaign Breakfast” (I think it is a "tradition" because it gives the Aussies an excuse to drink at breakfast, it normally involves Champaign and chicken but I improvised with Champaign and bagels instead.) I also bet on a couple of races but no luck as none of my picks even finished in the money.
Diva FeverDiva FeverDiva Fever

A Diva supporter hired a skywriter to show their support before the race.


Besides gambling and drinking in the morning, I have also finished up my second semester of classes. I only have one more to go, and I have to say time has flown by. I am about to hand in my last essay, but with that said I have already started working on my research project for my last semester and trying to find an internship as well. I am not quite sure what I am going to be doing over summer vacation. Hopefully working to earn some money and maybe a few weekend trips here and there. I pretty much have from now to mid-February off. Until next time....



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Post ParadePost Parade
Post Parade

A pic of the Diva in the Post Parade, she's the first one behind the grey horse in the red, white, and blue silks.
Before the RaceBefore the Race
Before the Race

On Oaks day
Oaks WinnerOaks Winner
Oaks Winner

Serenade Rose, the winner of the Oaks...who I didn't bet on....
Cup ParadeCup Parade
Cup Parade

Melbourne holds a parade for everything even the Cup. The day before the race they closed down Swanston St. one of the main roads in the city business district for the parade featuring former Melbourne Cup winners. This is Might and Power who won it a couple of years ago.


5th November 2005

Fashion
Hi! It's good to see you're having some fun and not killing yourself with schoolwork. Like the hats by the way!
23rd November 2005

insert funny title here
I haven't left you a comment so I figured I should one of these days. Do you remember the scene from the movie My Fair Lady when they go to the races? That's what your pictures remind me of. Glad to see your doing good Eliza hahaha

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb