Glacier Hiking on Mt. Cook


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Glaciers
October 13th 2005
Published: October 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ice CavernIce CavernIce Cavern

This is while we were walking up to the top part of the glacier, in a ice crevess. The caves further up are a blue color.
I just turned 25; so to mark the milestone I spent my birthday hiking a glacier on Mt. Cook. Mt. Cook is New Zealand’s largest mountain located on the West Coast, it is also home to the Fox and Franz Josef glaciers and temperate rain forests. The Fox glacier is a little further south than Franz Josef, and while it is bigger its not quite as popular as Franz Josef. According to our guide, Fox Glacier is actually one of the few glaciers in the world getting bigger, ironically because of global warming and the glacier its self is actually moving about one meter a day. We went on a half-day hike up to and then onto the glacier and got some amazing views. Fortunately the weather cooperated with us, though it was a little cloudy and we did get some flurries while we were on the glacier. Basically we had to hike about an hour straight up to get to the side of the glacier, as you are not allowed to climb up the face because it is too unstable. Once we got to the ice we climbed up using steps that had been cut out of the ice.
The Glacier FaceThe Glacier FaceThe Glacier Face

This is the face of Fox Glacier, while it may look like rocks, the front part is actually just dirty ice where it has been receeding.
I have to admit it was a bit unsettling, because even with special boots and a walking stick it was still a bit slippery and while I wasn’t to happy about turning 25 I really want to see 26! But we all made it safely and the climb up was definitely worth the view.
Besides the glaciers Mt. Cook over looks Lake Matheson also known as mirror lake because of the clear reflections. It was a bit windy, so my pictures aren’t a perfect mirror, but they are pretty close. The lake is also surrounded by the rainforests, so it was a beautiful hour and fifteen hike around the lake.
After Fox Glacier we headed back north through Hokitika, which is known for its jade deposits, then up to Nelson, which is the South Island’s second largest city. I really enjoyed Nelson, a very quaint little town that pretty much has it all as the ocean and mountains surround it. Right now I am on the ferry headed back to the North Island, I fly back to Australia in 2 more days, Hope this finds you all well and thanks to all those who have sent birthday messages
The Hike UpThe Hike UpThe Hike Up

I felt like a mountain goat while climbing up to the glacier, and I am so out of shape I am going to be sore for days!
and comments.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Our Group half-way upOur Group half-way up
Our Group half-way up

This is about half-way up, the view of the valley was amazing. I am behind our guide.
The View from the topThe View from the top
The View from the top

At the top of the climb looking out below
On the IceOn the Ice
On the Ice

Dont I look like a fearless explorer?
The Way UpThe Way Up
The Way Up

If you maximize this pic you can see the stairs we used to go up and down the glacier. I am glad I didnt realize how steep they were until after I got down!
Ice CaveIce Cave
Ice Cave

This is an ice cave formed at the face of the glacier. The guide told us that they do not explore it because it is too unstable and collapese as the glacier moves.
Postcard PicturePostcard Picture
Postcard Picture

Mt. Cook and Mt. Tasman (left)as seen from Matheson Lake
The trail around the lakeThe trail around the lake
The trail around the lake

A shot of the temperate rainforrests that surround the lake
Surfers at NelsonSurfers at Nelson
Surfers at Nelson

The surfers in Nelson were I guess what you would call para-boarding. Surfing attached to a para-sail.
NZ's most populous residentsNZ's most populous residents
NZ's most populous residents

I seemed hit NZ at lambing season...these little guys were everywhere
I'm Getting OldI'm Getting Old
I'm Getting Old

Birthday Cake in Nelson
Picton MemorialPicton Memorial
Picton Memorial

Picton's War Memorial overlooking Cook Strait
Ferry from Picton to WellingtonFerry from Picton to Wellington
Ferry from Picton to Wellington

The 3 hour ferry that runs between the North and the South Island


13th October 2005

GIRL YOU REALY HAVE SOME NICE SHOTS,ONLY WISH I WERE THERE WITH ,YOU ARE KILLING ME JODIE,,,BE CAREFULL
14th October 2005

As you know, I don't really do the nature thing, but the glacier looks awesome! I'm so excited you're having a good time down there.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb