Exit Middle Earth


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
July 11th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunset over Wainui beachSunset over Wainui beachSunset over Wainui beach

One of my favourite views in the whole world, seen from Makarori hill.
I find myself at a loss for words, don't worry, it won't last.

I remember taking the bus into Gisborne that sunny Saturday about 18 months ago. Thinking, here I am, moving to this small, isolated town in one of the most isolated countries in the world, knowing nothing about the place apart from the fact that Gisborne (or Gizzy as it's affectionately known) prides itself on being the first city in the world to see the new day - because of its proximity to the international date line. They must possibly have some pine trees near by (as my future job would require), and some good surfing - not that I've ever stepped foot on a board.

Not really scared, not really anxious, I was very excited to see what this little piece of heaven had to offer me.

This town, this country, these people did not disappoint. It awakened in me a spirit and adventure that left me doubtless of all the possibilities one can achieve and appreciate in life. I thought I was already there with my other travels behind me - but New Zealand, made me realize that this only grows. I rafted white
Perfectly good planePerfectly good planePerfectly good plane

So I had to jump out of it, just to see what Lake Taupo looked like from the air. To be honest, I don't remember...
water, hiked impossible peaks, sacrificed my body to the mtb trails of Rotorua and running the Mountains of the Coromandel, threw myself out of a plane, went horse back riding with the pros, jumped from a cliff (albeit a small one), dodge electric fences, learned how to box and yes, even to stand on a surf board - when its in the water!

In all aspects of my life in New Zealand, I was complete. A great circle of friends, never ceasing adventures and a rewarding career shared with great colleagues. I guess this is part of the reason I decided to leave??? I know, this doesn't make sense. But I've learned that you can always go back, and when you want to - you do. There are no more good-byes, only see-you-laters. My experiences in New Zealand, left me more of a hobbit than I already was. Though a bit less furry in the feet, and a few centimeters taller, my hobbit-like need for adventure is taking me back to Europe to study my Masters.

A few things Kiwiesque, that I will always remember and in no particular order:
1. Wainui beach, Makarori hill, Makarori beach.
2. Running these beaches with my crew (you know who you are).
3. Impromptu dance parties in my living room.
4. Squiggle tops, Monteiths, Macs, Pineapple lumps, Pie culture.
5. Bones of random animals strewn about the forests.
6. Hunters-galore.
7. Loggers wearing rugby shorts and gum boots.
8. Sweet-as, Cuzzy-bro, Choice, Ya Nah, Howz it, Noice
9. Pahutakawas in bloom
10. Sheep and cattle jams on state highway 35.
11. Standing on a surf board
12. Falling off a surf board
13. North Island missions to name a few - Hikurangi, Waioeka Gorge, Hicks Bay, Napier, Rotorua, Kauri Run, Toi Challenge, Port of Tauranga 1/2 ironman, Coromandel New Years, Wellington, Lake Waikeremoana, Auckland, Northland, Mt. Ruapehu.
14. Rugby
15. the Haka and the Hangi
16. Fish and Kumera chips
17. First taste of NZ in the south island.

So New Zealand, its been sweet. Until next time, hei konei ra......


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

A stop in the gorge on the way back from RotoruaA stop in the gorge on the way back from Rotorua
A stop in the gorge on the way back from Rotorua

One of my cliff jumps. Good way to break up the 3.5 hour drive.


Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb