Top of the Bottom


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
April 20th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the roadOn the roadOn the road

Just a cool shot, north of the Bay of Islands, enroute to Cape Reinga
Drawing card to Northland, perhaps the oldest and largest standing Kauri tree in New Zealand, even worthy of its own name, Tane Mahuta. Perhaps the romance associated with visiting the northern-most point of the country. Or maybe the thought of putting off autumn for just a little bit longer by climbing up to the warmest latitude New Zealand has to offer.

Well, the top of New Zealand didn't disappoint. I made the trip with my good friend Chris, and two friends of his (Dan from Oz and Kat from Canada). We found a gem of a beach near Dargaville, that lent some good surf for the others and a golden sandy beach for me to run on. We spent a couple of nights in Whangarei, and it is from here that I did a trip out to the Poor Knights Islands for a dive. This dive site was voted by Jaques Cousteaux (Sp?) as one of the top 10 dive sites in the world. And it did not disappoint. Heaps of sting rays (as it was their mating season), eagle rays and who knows how many species of fish and sponges.

We spent a night in the Bay of
Cape ReingaCape ReingaCape Reinga

The lighthouse at the northern-most point of New Zealand, where the Tasman Sea meets the South Pacific Ocean.
Islands, and then drove right up to Cape Reinga, the northern most point in New Zealand, where the Tasman sea meets the South Pacific. We had to race down the walkway to beat a bus full of screaming teenage tourists, so that we could get a few peaceful photos and enjoy the sunset. We camped up at the cape for a couple of nights. Where we feasted on fresh fish and poua, and enjoyed the warm sea.

The next couple of days found us camping in Ahipara at Shipwreck bay, just south of 90 mile beach. A Maori family ran a private campsite at the beach on their property, and it was just beautiful. Note to self, don't leave any scraps lying about, or the "pack" of pigs that live resident at the campsite will snort around find what they can and spray diarrhea on your slightly expensive tent... Chris and I made the day trip to go and see Tane Mahuta, and it was well worth it. I've come to realize I need a good big tree fix. Kind of like how people get seasonal affective disorder when they don't get enough sun light.

Had a short but sweet visit with Charl and Magdalena in Auckland and am looking forward to another couple of visits in the near future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Its this big!Its this big!
Its this big!

In awe of Tane Mahuta. Biggest/Oldest alive Kauri tree in NZ.


5th July 2009

A fellow traveler's ramblings
Shauna, Shauna, Shauna... You do your (not quite) old aunt proud. If you had a comment for every time I've looked at your blog and (re)lived my life through yours... you'd have a permanent block on my e-mail address... You'd just get tired of hearing from me so often! Seriously though, I'm so proud of you. You no doubt have days when you think you were a fool to have ever left that safe harbour back on Vancouver Island... but then, (maybe through your tears...) you catch a glimpse of some incredible sight and your wanderlust is back in gear. Ah I remember this so well from my days on the road. As long ago as that was... I still can recall them as clearly as if they happened yesterday. I remember what I wore, who I was with and what we ate... most of all, I remember the BIG WARM FULL feeling that I was exactly where I needed to be (even though I might not have been "exactly sure" where I was...) I may not be making much sense but I feel you know just what I'm talking about. You know Dear... travel alters the spirit. The wonder never completely leaves, even long after the traveler "settles down"... does the marriage thing... the career thing... the 2 kids thing... etc... etc... The traveler has all those days and nights to look back on and they sustain her through dirty diapers, boring board meetings and all of life's other mundane moments... This altered state is also easily recognized in others. I so-o-o-o-o see it in you. When you go to Copenhagen and must discipline yourself to study, get the grades, finish the program... know one thing for sure... this is a good thing. Life must have balance and you will be better for the ballast this stage of your life will give you. I'll say it again... Shauna, I'm so proud of you. “May the road rise up to meet you. May the wind always be at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face, and rains fall soft upon your fields. And until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of His hand.” My love and admiration always... Auntie Joany

Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb