2008/2009 Race Season


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Port of Tauranga 1/2 IronmanPort of Tauranga 1/2 IronmanPort of Tauranga 1/2 Ironman

After the event, we all still managed to smile!
Well, for some strange reason, I thought it necessary to run in more races this year than I have in any other given year. Normally I would do a couple, but this year, lets see...

Oct - Gisborne 1/4 Marathon
Nov - Whakatane 18km trail run
Nov - Eastwood hill 1/2 Marathon
Nov - Coromandel 32km mountain run
Jan - Port of Tauranga 1/2 Ironman (run only).

I didn't scrape through with any personal bests as far as times go, however, completing the 32km mountain run was a distance first for me, and has got me hooked on trail and mountain running. A whole new level of craziness. I've covered beaches, sand dunes, creeks, paddocks, native NZ forest, Pine plantation forest, just about everything you can find outside, here in this beautiful country. I even managed to find people crazy enough to run them (or in the 1/2 ironman swim and cycle) with me.

Its taken its toll however, and my left foot is giving me severe grief. So I've decided to slow down on the running intensity and take my surf board out more often! Its a tough life here in NZ, but someone has to live
Whakatane 18km trail runWhakatane 18km trail runWhakatane 18km trail run

Me and Gabby taking to the hills between Whakatane and Ohope
it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Coromandel Trail RunCoromandel Trail Run
Coromandel Trail Run

Believe me, I was proud of this time. I finished about 1/2 way in the pack, so this isn't a terrible time. I was just so thrilled that I finished it!


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb