Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, Just another quick entry!

I spent my day climbing a glacier in Franz Josef - and it was great! There was even a small hole in the ice which had opened up we could crawl through. It was so small at parts even I had to lay down in the (freezing cold) puddle at the bottmo of it and just pulled myself through using my arms - it was incredible!

After Franz Josef we went to Makarora for the day, there was some great scenery and good walks on the way, but it was mainly a stopover place for us!

After Makarora we travelled down to Queenstown via Wanaka. Whilst in Wanaka I went to the very good 'Puzzling World' which is home to a good 2 level maze and many puzzles and illusions. It was a lot of fun and definitely worth the stop on the way through.

I was originally going to go skiing and snowboarding in Queenstown and had a package booked, but although it was one of the best ever starts to the ski season a few days ago some warm rain came and melted away all the snow! It's been a bit too warm to make snow since. I got a full refund on my package though. I was considering doing a bungy jump, hangglading or jet boating here but it's all very expensive and most can be done cheaper elsewhere.

I did go on my tour of Milford Sound yesterday, it was a long 4-5 hour journey each way but well worth it. It's the most visited place in New Zealand and was recently voted one of the best places in the world to visit! The scenery there is incredible, I took many pictures but the really dont begin to show what it's like there.

Tomorrow I travel back up to Christchurch - I was planning on hanging around in Queenstown for a bit longer but I've managed to get myself a ticket to the England vs All Blacks match in Christchurch on Saturday! It was only 20 pounds for a ticket so I thought i may as well go to it! Christchurch is the next stop on my route anyway.

The weather has been supprisingly dry over here - just very cold! I'm not sure if I'll spend some more time in Christchurch or head up to the slightly warmer north island and spend the extra few days I have along my tour up there.

As usual - I hope you are all well! Keep in touch.

Just a quick note to anyone visiting Queenstown reading this - no visit here is complete without a Fergburger!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb