New Zealand so far


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

I've not posted in a while, which is because I've been in various remote places of New Zealand with no internet! I've only got a few mins now, but I'll note down what I've been upto so I don't forget.

From Christchurch I traveled to Kaikoura, where I went whale watching again. It was sperm whales this time, and a very different experience to Sydney. We also got to see Dolphins and a couple of Penguins briefly on the trip.

We then went up to Picton, stopping to see some seals on the way - I went on a good 4 -5 hour walk up there with some people from the stray bus, which ended with some more seals - which we didn't know about!


After Picton it was Marahau and the Abel Tasman national park, where I went on a day trip which involved a 4 hour walk then a few hours sailing, seeing more seals. There was no wind and we had to motor along though!

Then we went to Barrytown where I did some bone carving to make myself a new pendant.

Today we arrived in Franz Josef, and tomorrow I'm going on a full day glacier walk!!

It's not been as cold as I thought it would out here and we've not really had too much rain. Tomorrow will be cold of course, but we get clothes designed for the walk.

Thats my time up. I might be able to get on here again tomorrow. Otherwise it'll be the next large town we visit!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb