Canyon Swing


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So today me, Nick and Andy got up early and went on the flybywire, as reccomended by alien girl. Fly by Wire is decribed as flying a go kart. You are strapped into a wire 'airplane' with a motor on the back. You are then dragged up a cliff and fly through the valley a few times. Pretty fun, you can go pretty fast and pretty high, was fun but not quite the adrenaline hit the other things have been.

The afternoon we went to the canyon swing. The world's biggest swing. This experience is completly different from the bungees. Purely because of the staff, they are not comforting or helpfull. They are cruel and want to make you as nervous as possible! I was being my usual smartmouthed self and when they said something about someone else's harness being a little loose and they probably should cahnge it but it'll be fine. I sniped that it's easy to be complacent till the first kill. Think my humour is lost in translation alot of the time.

I was second up, I choose 'the chair' as my method of throwing myself of the cliff. Basically you are strapped to a chair and sit on the edge of the 109m drop. You then lean back teetering on the edge, untill, yup, you fall. It's not easy leaning back on a chair knowing that you're going to fall over 100 metres. But i did it, and they caught me and dragged me up then telling me if i end up in the water don't forget to unclip the chair. Ha - guess they didn't like my quip. They did this again and messed with me a bit more untill letting me plumett.

There was a special offer on and it only costs another $5 to do a second jump. We of course chose to. For my second jump I chose 'Gimpboy goes to Hollywood'. You are strapped upside down above the canyon and headdive all the way down. Oh my goodness this is scary. Seeing the ground rush to you at 150km/hour is frighening!! They messed with me even more this time as they had the power to chose when I was going to fall. Canyon Swing was alot of fun!!! I brought the DVDs which are quite fun to watch.

We of course went out in the evening and had a good night till the wee hours. Unfortunately our sky dive was cancelled on Friday. Snow. Going to have to do one on the North island with Nick.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb