Bungggggggggeeeeeeeeee.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Da blog has lost a bit of steam at the moment, but I just have done so much lately it's been hard to find the time to write it all. I will edit the previous post to explain what I've been doing soon.

We are now in Queenstown. This is the most beautiful 'city' i have ever been to. You are surrounded by mountains and lakes. Stunning. Truely unbelievable.

I drove the campervan down from wanaka on Saturday night, foot never leaving the floor Vicki (our can) bottoms out at 100-120 and the record is 150 down a mountain. We arrived in record time, stopped at a bottle shop and headed to acamp site. As we've been warned not to free camp in QT and got moved on by 'Gary from the council' the night before at 6am, when we were still marginally of our faces. So back to the van with our d-rinks. We discovered our electric doesn't work. So in our van now, we have no running water, water doesn't drain from the sink, it is the coldest place known to man, we have lost everything in one of the outside cupboards as we forgot to close it and now no electric. That's not to mention the fact we caved in the back of the van and smashed the lights. (We had a little accident the other day, that I will write about in the previous post.) Fantastic. Oh and it smells really badly of wet dog. Lovely. To be honest we've wrecked the place, we have to return it next sat - it's going to be very interesting to hear what they say to us. We're not getting our deposit back that is for sure.


Anyway, got so much to write about. Last few days have been magical. So Friday night we went out, pretty drunk and our neighbours phoned the police and noise police on us. They were going to put a sticker on our van apprently to say we can't stay in other camps anymore. We begged them to take us to prison instead. Not a sticker!! We then went to town and had a very interesting night. We stayed out till about 4 drinking shots from teapots. Bizzare night. So we got back to the van and made even more noise. We're not too popular at the campsite. Sunday we got up just before midday, headed up a mountain in a Gonadla. Then luged for a while, which was ok you had to go on the learner luge first unless you had a stamp. The gang went on the learner luge but Andy and I gambelled and guessed that they wouldn't chase us on the advanced so jumped on and looked liek retards trying to start them. Just when the people realised we screwed the system we were away. Was ok, some guy wiped out just in front of me pretty nastily.


After admiring the outstanding views. My goodness. Breathtaking. We saw a bungee. We were all hungover but went watched a couple and I said i'd do it if it was cheap. It wasn't but Andy and I signed up for the Thrillogy anyway. $350 plus $80 for the DVD. Ouch. The bungee is called the ledge, check it out: http://www.ajhackett.co.nz/index.php/pi_pageid/22 Andy did a backflip of it (showoff) and I did a running swandive. Only a 47m drop but scary plus it's on a side of a mountain so looking down is like 2-300m. Was quite a feeling, you get just over the edge and think what the hell am i doing? So unatural to throw yourself of a cliff.

Later we watched some movies. We've been out for the last few nights and needed a break.

Today we got up at 8.45 and went to Kawarah bridge, this is where the bungy was invented. http://www.ajhackett.co.nz/index.php/pi_pageid/17 I went first, this one was harder as you had no run up. I was my normal elegant self. Andy stripped down and got dunked in the water. Nick also did the jump. Robin tried the kit on got to the ledge but bottled it. This was a 43m jump i think.

Next. Nevis. 134m. Huge. Scary. 8.5 seconds till full extension, top speed of 130k/hour. Take a minute to think how daunting that is. The bus was quiet on the way up.
http://www.ajhackett.co.nz/index.php/pi_pageid/29

Terrifying, the cable car is tiny & it has a glass floor and you jump in a huge canyon. You watch people almost hit the floor and you get whiter and whiter convincing yourself that you can't do it. And more to the point why would you want to?!! Dougal and me weighed the same yesterday but clearly he ate more so he was 1kg heavier which meant he went first. Ha. He was third from our group as was amazing, no hesitation. He is scared of hieghts but wanted to cure it. Well done lad. Very impressed. Good dive as well. I obviously did it, looking down was a mistake. My legs stopped working and wouldn't let me jump so I toppled. I fell pretty arkwardly and it jerked me back into it's dersired path. Watching the DVD it makes a loud noise and everyone gasps. Classic. The feeling was pretty amazinf. 8 seconds? More like half a second. Great stuff tho. Have no idea how to explain the sensation.

I spent the next 20 mins winding Andy up. I'm not a good person. I managed to turn him pretty white. He flew as well. We then went back to town and got the biggest burger of my life. Forgotten the name of hte place but was reccomended it and it was a good one. Best burger ever. Town frisbee, internet then going out since we're all fairly pumped up 😊

Champion. Doing a skydive, canyon swing. Then maybe, white water rafting, jet boating. Then a 3 day trek then return our van on sat. Busy times.

I know the speeling is alwfu;l and grammar is disgusting in this post. Even for me. But well I've thrown myself of 3 rather high placdes in the last 2 days so don't really care.

Take care. Oh Nick & Robin are on the same flight as me to Fiji. Plus Andy is there for a while so have ready made friends for Feej! They sound people as well. Good times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb