More bungy


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today- up early, into town, got to bungy centre to take me out to Nevis highwire bungy, which is 134m from a pod thing over a canyon. This is very high, however I'm more used to them now, so wasn't anywhere near as nervous as I was before my Auckland one, so when I jumped it was really quite relaxing! It's just good fun now, and you got to enjoy the feeling of going down as it's 8+ seconds of freefall, all of which were good. Some muppet took really bad photos though, but can see them here Nevisbungyphotos
Came back to town for lunch, and then this afternoon am going to read my stuff on South America, and meet a few of the kiwi bus people and the canadians I met in oz for a drink. Plan.

Tomorrow is Milford Sound at 6.30am. This is a disaster, although can sleep on the 4hr journey there, then take loads of photos. Up to Christchurch the day after, then one day there before Chile. Super...


Continued... As it turns out if you don't set your alarm properly you don't wake up naturally at 6am. As I discovered when I woke up at 11am. This was quite annoying, however it was peeing it down anyway, and apparently you couldn't actually see anything there anyway. Score.

Headed into town and nosed around after swapping hostels for a place called Bumbles which had comfy chairs in and a lovely big view of the lake out the window, where it was raining. Cleared enough to pop into town for something to eat, then spent the remainder of the afternoon in the hostel living room watching films, including The Ring, which was quite good.


Post dinner watched some TV and met a girl who was a bit irritating, but was good enough to tell me where to go in Chile, including hostel names, maps, buses etc. She also gave me a suggested itinerary, and wrote it all down. This was useful as I had no idea what was going to happen in Chile. At all.

Had lovely sleep, and got up at 7 to head to Christchurch. Bus left at 8 which was annoying, and I was sitting next to a guy that smelt quite a lot, and asked me questions like where had i been travelling, how long for etc. I tolerated this for a good five minutes, before mid conversation putting my headphones on and producing my new book (the lovely bones), which I then read for the next 5 hours. And finished. He'd moved when we came back from lunch, so used the other seat for sleeping. Perfect. Good book as well.

Arrived in chch around 5pm.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb