rugby, beer, champagne (lots) and modelling


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post


After the free beer, I went back to the hostel, and en route picked up a rugby shirt and free scarf to help me blend in at the rugby.

Rugby was quite good fun- game wasn't very special, highlanders (my team hahaha) won by loads, although it was quite good fun watching the students (mostly the very not 18yrs old ones) get far too drunk.

Back to hostel in preparation for big day of sightseeing the next day.

First stop after breakfast in reall nice hostel that did free filter coffee (this made me happy) was the main street where they were having the world bagpiping championships. I found this a little bit strange, and got a headache after a while, so popped into famous coffee shop to read my book for a bit.

Went on Speights brewery tour in the afternoon, which was quite interesting, although got much more interesting when we got to the tasting, and the guide left the room for 40 minutes and told us to help ourselves. This was enjoyable.

Around 4pm emerged from brewery a bit wobbly, and headed to where the fashion show was being held (it was Dunedin fashion week, and this was why Michael (guy who gave me lift) was in town, apparently its quite famous). Met his PR woman who took me to meet some models and watch them getting hair and makeup done. Brilliant, but not altogether that interesting once the novelty of being backstage at a fashion show had worn off. Went to get fashionable haircut after that in preparation for the pre, during and afterparties that I was invited to. For free.

Went back to hostel for a shower etc, and a few beers with some German girls I met in the hostel, and a TV presenter who was going to the shows. Walked down with her and met the others just outside, so could walk down the red carpet with them.

Turns out pre-parties are amazing, and you can stay by the bar and get as much free (posh) champagne and stella and food as you can chuck down your throat (I ate a lot of food) before heading into the catwalk and sitting in the journalist seats (they are near the front). One also recieves a free goody bag (or 5 if noone is looking) with hair stuff in, and vouchers, and I also got a designer wristband thing from one of the people there to remind me of my time in NZ (its got an etching of NZ on the front- he'd just made it).

Was nonchalently standing by the bar enjoying some champagne, when three directors of fashion labels in NZ (one was international) approached me and basically said I was cool, and asked if they could take a photo of me and give me (or my agent if they were here) their cards so that I could get in touch when I was back in the UK and they could sort me out with a shoot. What can I say, if you've got it you've got it. I graciously accepted their free drinks and an invitation to one of their labels afterparties, which was nice.

NB I haven't spent any money yet

Went out to a few bars after that and accepted a few more free beers from various well-wishers, before meeting with some people from the hostel and being a bit smug.

Good evening all round.

Next morning met with one of the TV presenters for breakfast, and caught the bus (which was much slower than hitching back to Queenstown, where I enjoyed a cajun chicken fergburger, before retiring for an early night.

Advertisement



12th March 2007

Smugness
I can feel it oozing out of your free hair gel!
14th March 2007

Jammy jammy jammy how do you manage it?????Aunty Maggie will be pleased about the modeling as she always says how hansome you are...very similar to Robbie!!!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb