arrival


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

7am---
So far the theme of the trip is lateness. I was an hour late getting to LAX, the plane was 20 mins late taking off, we were late getting to the gate because there was a fire drill in the Auckland airport. Next, I needed to transfer to the domestic terminal which requires a bus ride. No time, but two other American girls were taking a taxi over to the terminal, so I caught a ride with them. The taxi driver, who spoke broken English, informed us that the 3 block ride would be $40. Well I had no time to exchange money so I paid the girls in American dollars. The taxi driver said they should pay $20 and I should pay $20 since 2 different parties were using the cab. So as usual Kim gets screwed out of here money. I had no time to fight about it, but generally is it not polite to split the fare between every person, especially if you are all going to the same place? The girls insisted I pay $20 and I only had a matter of mins to get on the plane, so I gave it to them. They must be from Newport Beach the little b*tches.

7:30am---
As I know fly toward Wellington I am still mulling over this situation. No matter where you go taxi drivers are crooked, but what about our fellow Americans? I overheard the girls say they would be travelling for six months. I wonder if they will become more conscience citizens by travelling? My hope for them is that they see their world a little more closely and themselves a little farther away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb