Beach Rat


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here I am. South of Auckland and chilling out on beaches and swimming in the ocean daily. The weather has been awesome, and I love being a beach bum. I could spend a long time just hanging out on all the different beaches south of Auckland. The first one was in a town called Haihae and was the mostest bestest beach I have ever seen....even better then the ones in Newfoundland...go figure. Long white sandy beaches with awesome waves to play around in. We stayed at a little hostel right near the water and had beach parties during the night. I went kayaking and that was fun, lots of big swells, so I got very wet. After that we headed to a surf town called raglan. I havent done any surfing but I have eben playing in the waves and biking around the area. The waves here are giant and I feel like a pair of pants in the laundry machine when I body surf in them. We are staying a few extra days and the posse I was travelling in split into two. Nows its three canada's and a english gal. the hostel is awesome. Its like a summer camp like camp caribou. Minutes from the black sand beaches and has a very outdorrsy feel to it. Also a zip line throught a glowworm forrest.
Got to go running out of time.....sprry!
update later
Tim

Advertisement



21st January 2008

bastard
you bastard...that does not sound fun at all.
21st January 2008

paradise
Wow, Tim - sounds like paradise... if i said i wasn't a wee bit jealous, i'd totally be a big fat liar! but i'm gonna be living that lifestyle very soon, so mostly i'm feeling very happy and excited for you. enjoy every microsecond! can't wait to see your photos!
22nd January 2008

no pics, no proof!
Where are your pics of such wonderful beaches - I want proof! I need to "feel warm" vicariously right now. P.S. its almost as much fun to read the comments as to read your updates Tim, You have very funny friends and family don't ya think?

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb