Good Times


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It has been a very busy six days since I last wrote a travel blog. But before I get to the juicy bits and pieces all my photos will be on facebook and evntually here, its just very slow to upload things on to any website let alone multiple sites, I am not made of money people!
I have been rocking the big amusment park known as New Zealand very hard the last six days. After I left the surfer town of Raglan we went to the waitaimo caves, which is an area with over 800 different caves to explore. I did a commercially run one and me and two other guys and a guide did a three hour adventure in an amazing cave. It was very physical and active. We abseiled underground waterfalls and had a 45 meter abseil to start to get in the cave. Rock climbing, crawling in mud and squeezing through the tiniest of spaces. Amazing! Lots of glowwrms as well....they dont look like the stuffed animal Jay had as a kid. More like a gross little glowing maggot.
After the caves we headed up to a murai, which is a moari meeting place and we went through the cultural experiance of a traditiaonl moari meal which is cooked underground with hot rocks and a clanket...it was pretty good. After the meal there was a performance of the haka and poi which are traditional dances and songs by the men and women. Then we got to learn it and preform ourselves. It was fantastic, there was only 12 people in the group and it was so hands on and the mouri hosts were so friendly and helpful. I got big bruises from doing the haka. It is a war dance, so very intense and you have to tryto scare people with your power, so lots of hitting yourself hard.
The next day we headed east in the littlest of vans crammed full of people. It was a three day trip onto the rural and less travelled part of new Zealand. It was very nice and we stayed at some amazing beach hostels. I did this thing called the rockslide...whish is a long 60 meter smooth rock that is on a slope and oyu tube down it or boogie board. I hit my knees a few times pretty hard, but it was still alot of good fun. There was also alot of ice cream eaten on the east cape trip. It is only 1.50 for ice cream here in new zealnd money and they give you about 3 scoops...its giant....i am in shock. Three times a day I was eating ice cream. Mainly the east cape was alot of driving and seeing the rural scenery and stunning coastlines of The east.
Then it was on to Roturou, the adventure capital of the North Island and yes in fact the home of the Zorb. the Zorb is ridiculous. Roll down a hill In a big ass hampster ball. It was so much fun, they fill it with water and I cant even describe the feeling of rolling down, its amazingly cheezy and aweosme. I also went white water rafting which was also a good time, great pics from that, and I will get those up soon. We went down a 7 meter waterfall and we go completely vertical and then completely submergeed and in the pic as soon as we reamerge I am giving the old victory punch in the air. the hostel in Rotura that I stayed in was the ebst hostel ever, candy on the pillow and it felt like we had our own house.
Now I am heading south and have stopped at taupo, home of New Zealands largest lake, tomorrow I head to Mount Doom and do the tongeneriro crossing, a big hike around active volcanos.
Will keep you all posted and will get the rest of the North island pics when I have a spre moment!
Tim

Advertisement



28th January 2008

...it's all fun and games until you get brainfreeze from eating too much ice cream!!!!! Hey, when you get home let me know what the entire trip cost you - i'm totally gonna copy! :-P
28th January 2008

whaaa???
This sounds so flippin' amazing!! I am so jelous.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb