The first week of Fun


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I have made it for a week on my own and in another country. It is very tough to do nothing but relax, hike, eat, drink and have fun. I am going to need a vacation from this vacation. I arrived in Auckland a week ago and its ok, a nice looking city that kinda is a mix of Vancouver and Victoria, so I felt pretty at home there. I stayed at a hostel called the fat camel and it was a good place to hang out for three days, met alot of nice people a more mature older crowd. I didnt do alot in Auckland because I was tired and its more of a gateway city to the rest of the country. I did go to a few valcanoes which were awesome, I have never seen a real crater before. We talked our way on to a free bus tour of the city and it was a good chance to get a tour of everythinig Auckland. The next day I went to an island just outside of the city called Rattitugga....I am most likely spelling that wrong...actually defintly spelling that worng. Anyways it was an amazing volcanic island with black lava rocks everywhere and a good hike up to see an amazing view of the whole area. The highest spot in the Auckland region. I will get the pictures uploaded eventually, but right now I am to lazy.
The next day I bought a bus pass for the whole island thorugh the Stray bus company. It is a hop on hop off pass so It gives me freedom to do what I want but also giving me a little structure on where and when to go places. Also some free day trips and events.
Now I am in the Bay of Islands north of Auckland and its very nice and sunny out and the water is warm and the beaches are even better. I have met lots of nice people to travel with and have been having lots of fun. But I am sure you guys back home are having a good time as well.
Oh yeah one more thing, I went sand boarding, which is body surfing down these giant sand dunes near the ninty mile beach. and the ninty mile beach is amazing, one long sandy beach that also is a road during low tides. Well I dont know what else to say, but I am going to go hang out on a beach otday and then tomorrow I am oging on an eco-tour on an overnight boat trip. should be fun.
Bye

Advertisement



12th January 2008

not fair.
not fair. i hate you. but not really....lose your ipod yet?
13th January 2008

thanks for check-in
Sounds tough for sure - glad you are safe and sound - love you
13th January 2008

WOW
WOW!
13th January 2008

very cool - can't wait to see pictures! sand boarding sounds like wicked fun - hope you get a chance to go surfing too. i heard there's some amazing surfing around the island.
14th January 2008

amazing
simpley amazing tim, we are very jealous and proud of you. Keep the blogs coming, I look forward to them. joe

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb