Resting in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 2nd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

August 2, 2007
We arrived in Auckland yesterday morning around 8:00am. We are surprised that we adjusted so well considering we took a four hour flight from the Cook Islands on a Tuesday and arrived on Wednesday. Every time we told people we were headed for New Zealand we were told how cold it was (it’s winter here). Well, we landed and everybody had their heavy jackets on, and we were fine in a long sleeve light weight shirt. Apparently 50 degrees is cold here. The weather has been over cast and some small rain showers which is pretty typical here. We picked up a car at the airport. It is a Suzuki Swift, meaning very small. Here is a link to a picture of it:
http://www.whatcar.co.uk/car-review-pictures.aspx?RT=694
Yesterday, we took a walk around the downtown area of Auckland. We are staying at the Crowne Plaza, it is alright, but they charge for EVERYTHING. I was mad how much they charge for internet, considering cheaper hotels have free internet, so anything that I can get free, I have requested. You can request different types of pillows for free so last night I requested a feather pillow, tonight I just might request the other 3 types. I know, I’m mature.
After lunch, Mark and I decided we needed to get in shape so he went to the gym and I stayed in the hotel and did one of my workout dance DVDs. I sure hope nobody was trying to sleep on the floor below us. Hehe. After working out we did some laundry. (17 bucks for the hotel to do it, or u can do it urself for $2. It was only 2 floors down, so I decided to take the stairs. Yeah, I was locked in the staircase for a while. Apparently, you have to take the elevator, stairs are only for emergency. It would have been nice to know that before I went down the stairs. Oh yeah, we were on the 19th floor, like hell I was walking down 19 flights. I had just worked out. So I banged on the door until somebody went past. Not a proud moment.
We had an early night since we were exhausted. The Chandler’s arrived in Auckland last night, but their plane was delayed and we were asleep when they got in, so we didn’t get to see them.
Today, we took a bus tour of Auckland. It is a nice city but a lot bigger than I thought it would be. We both liked the outer part of the city better than the city center. The city reminds us of being in the UK. Very similar. The bus tour went all around the city and let us off at Kelly’s underwater world. It was a cute little aquarium. There is an “Arctic World” where your get on this tram ride and see a bunch of Penguins. Apparently the penguins were bred in the Edinburgh zoo, so they are Scottish Penguins. Go figure. After the tour we met up with Aly, Andy, and Grace for lunch. We had lunch in the Sky Tower and watched crazy people do a controlled fall. They are hooked onto this harness that drops you to a platform below. It looked kinda fun, but scary. I am starting to rethink Bungee Jumping. (Mom, you don’t have to worry anymore). Anyways, the Chandlers are now off to the Glowworm caves and we are relaxing at the hotel. Oh, I almost forgot. We think there will be an Irish bar in almost everyplace we go, and we have to have a drink. We found a bunch here, but we settled for one called “The Bog”. It was a little early in the morning, but we had a drink there.
Tomorrow we are off to Tauranga. I am going to drive. AHHHHHH. I am a little scared so stay tuned to see what happens.


Advertisement



7th August 2007

Thanks for taking the worry out of my life!
Emily and Mark: So glad to hear you are re-thinking bungee jumping!!! I thought you were going to jump last Thursday and I almost made myself sick with worry - please just watch! I am so glad your blog is up again - can just see you stuck in the stairway - ha,ha! Love you both - stay safe.

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb