Driving on the left...LeFT...LEFT!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
August 3rd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm Driving!I'm Driving!I'm Driving!

well, I was getting ready to start
I did it! I drove without an accident! Get more to that in a minute.
Mark and I woke up this morning and had an American breakfast. Every time we get coffee, they always put steamed milk in it. It always has to be something fancy. All I want is just coffee and milk, not steamed, shaken, or anything else they want to do to it. I was walking down the street thinking about how much I want a regular coffee and then I saw it…..Dunkin Donuts. So Mark and I had a nice original coffee and went next door to the McDonalds for a breakfast sandwich. I feel bad for the New Zealanders. They are missing out on something great; the biscuit. They only have the Mcmuffin or bagel. I survived after all, I had my DD coffee. Just thinking about it makes me want another one.
Anyways, we left Auckland early in the morning. It was about a 2 hour drive. We came to a small little town half way into the trip and I got a surge of courage. I had Mark pull off into a little community off the main road, (the main road was only a
The carThe carThe car

I'm about to go
2 lane country road). I got in the car, Mark took a picture, and I was off. Umm, ok I stalled the car first, but then I was off and driving. I felt like I was 15 again and my dad was teaching me how to drive. (stab of homesickness). So here I am driving on the other side of the road! Can you believe it? I thought I was doing great until I noticed that the loud noise was the gravel I was kicking up because I was too far over on the side of the road. Opps. Once I was confident, I zoomed out onto the main road, alright, I creeped out. It was really easy since it was a straight road. And then it happened the thing I was dreading the most…..a roundabout. I only screamed a little bit, and Mark did a little more. His words, “I wouldn’t have gone”. Oh well, I got beeped at, nothing worse. I was feeling so good that I drove all the way to our next destination, Tauranga. I only had a slight panic attack driving into the city. The city is not that big, so I was ok.
We
TaurangaTaurangaTauranga

The view from our hotel.
arrived to our hotel pleasantly surprised. We didn’t know what to expect from Tauranga and we ended up having a great time there. The city centre was big enough that there was a good selection of things to do. They have a street called the Strand which only has bars and restaurants. It was a really nice night, so we sat outside and had a bunch of drinks. We ended up meeting a woman named Kay and then a guy named Lee. (both locals). We had a great time and would go back there. We stayed in a great Hotel called Hotel on Devonport. It was right in the center of things and on the water. The hotel is newer and very nice! It was cheaper than the Crowne Plaza and 10 times better! Very modern. OHH OHH and they give you a complimentary drink when you arrive. I asked for it immediately since I had just driven and still a bit shaky.
We had a great day today, amazing hotel, great town, no accidents!



Advertisement



7th August 2007

Worry, worry, worry!
Ah, now I have more to worry about - let me see - bungee jumping and driving on the wrong side of the road - yipes - sounds like you are having a wonderful time. Forgot to say - loved the video on Cook Island - beautiful! Love you both!
7th August 2007

Thank God
Thank God the website is back up. That was worrying me for a little while. It sounds like you guys are having so much fun! I laughed out loud when I read about your driving. It reminded me of your dad teaching me to drive stick. "We're drifting!" Well, continue to have a safe and great trip! Oh and, as for Krissy's boobs, I have plenty of pics! :) (your welcome, Kris)
13th August 2007

HAHAH!!
I so wish that I could have been a fly inside the car to watch this. Was it as bad as Time Square driving?? Screaming with your fott on the gas the whole time? Beep Beep!!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb