YHA Training


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Monday 21st May 2007

Jumped on Air New Zealand on monday morning preparing for a week's training at both Auckland's hostels. I wasnt sure what I was really going to do - a bit of front desk, talk to few people and look busy...sounds like management talk David? (Brent The Office 2000)

Flight was delayed, but once I was there, I was shown round by the manager Steve who loved motorsport and footy so I was sorted straight away.
I worked on the systems and learnt the guest database and generally chat with the staff! They had organised a few things for me to do - bus tour, meet others, go out for few beers for someones leaving due stuff like that!
The day went smoothly and I thought this isn't so bad for a week! I had decided that I was going to fully use up YHA's expenses and eat out bigtime! So it started with a Mexican, large fajitas please!

The rest of the week went fine, moving from hostel to hostel learning more and trying to get some ideas for national office - like I'd been actually working. It was quite cool when I was introduced - "Heres Rich he's from National Office!" Sounded quite important! Little do they know. Hit the cinema on Tuesday and watched RENO 911: MIAMI which was class.

Wednesday I did the bus tour with a company called Stray - all young people, mostly travellers who just smash it up! Was a right laugh and Nathan the guide sorted me out for my biggest feat I've ever done!!!

JUMPING OFF THE SKY TOWER...192m HIGH!

You'll see the size of this building, its huge and I was lucky enough to dive off it! Its not a bungee jump as such, you've connected by a cord attached to your back and its a controlled fall - still drop like a brick but its the height thats the pure shitter!!

So me and this crazy Texan guy headed up to get suitted and buckled ready! We got weighed and then up in the lift right to the top...I'd just like to point out that it was raining and windy!

So upon leaving the lift we quickly realised where we were jumping from and how high it ruddy was!!! There was a girl going before us so we had to wait on the edge of the building as she got hooked up and nervously walked to the end of the diving board ledge, knowing that we'd be doing that in a matter of minutes!!

She jumped and then it was me...

Trying to smile and chat to the crew I got ready and the door opened and I shuffled along to ledge nearer the end! I just kept thinking, shit if they've got my weight wrong, they've got my weight wrong I'm not stopping!!
The wind and rain felt tens times as bad as the ledge felt as if it was getting thinner and thinner towards the end! I got to the end, inches from the jumping off and turned for a photo! I quick smile and thumbs up and the bloke hooked the cord on and told me to hold onto to the sides, toes over the edge and lean out! This was it!?!I looked down, across at the views and up at JC! Here goes!!

He counted me down and I jumped, like Spiderman, off the 5th tallest building in the world! They stop you 10 metres down and you look up and they take another photo - all you think about is them letting you go and dropping....and they do, suddenly....the fear slowly changed to elation as you fly down and shout at the top of your voice! With the world getting closer and closer and with you not slowing down, I definitely thought my weight was wrong!! Then metres from the ground you slow up a bit and hit the mat!

I look up and realise what I've just done...high of adrenaline I'm chatting away at the crew member who by her reaction has probably heard this a thousand times over!! I wait for the American to come down, screaming like a girl! We head back up to get changed, grinning like a cheshire cat! I get it all for free and the photos too!

The rest of the tour I'm just smiling away. Would have loved Gill to have done it too and if we're here again, shes definitely going up! We visit Mount Eden and get lunch and chat to Nathan whose leaving and having a Barby that night which I'm invited to! That night fuelled on beer and sausages I chat to other people from all the different areas of tourism and get us hooked up for free stuff ranging from hostels to camper vans! Gill will be impressed! I head back home well chuffed on a classic day!

Thursday morning started early - 6am I'm sitting in the TV lounge with foreigners from all over the place watching the Champions League Final. They lose and typically English I walk out as soon as the final whistle goes blowing at Inzaghi and the Itals.
Im shattered all day and did the evening shift with a crazy chinese guy called Chris. Its Mum's birthday (hope you sent her cards lads!) and I talk to her about the week.

With the week coming to an end, I still have the weekend here so Steve plans a few things for me to do. I was meant to go Canoning (jumping absailing down waterfalls) but thats cancelled last min so I manage to get free entry to Kelly Tarlton Antartic and Shark centre on Saturday!

Friday night is industry night, which basically is a piss up for all the people in tourism. Free bar for all us lot with name badges! It was in a real nice bar and I met up with the YHA crew and recognised a few other faces from the week. Free bar was class, I was smashing it up- saw the bloke who threw me off the sky tower! Nearly lamped him. All the YHA got me on the dancefloor, so I needed more ale. The bar tab stopped around 11ish and blagged a few drinks off other - proper Rico style! I walked home through the city, rang Gill drunk and passed out fully clothed. The usual.

Saturday 26th May 2007

I woke heavy headed. The day consisted of having a shit steak down at teh harbour, going to Kelly Tarlton Centre and cooking in the hostel with half of China. The Tarlton Centre was actually bosh, watched them feed the stingray, went in a snow pod to see the penguins and saw shed loads of sharks as I walked through this dome thingy.
I started writing my blogs as well and got an early night....only to be rung at the lovely hour of 5am on sunday morning by my lovely girlfriend, well and truly smashed off her face. I dont think in the 20 mins on the phone did she make sense or was able put a sentence together! Funny as.

Sunday 27th MAy 2007

After struggling to get back to sleep after my early morning wake up call and then checking out at 10 I got outside, went for walk and freshened up!
I was all geared up for paintball which had been organised by bloke called Andy who was Manager at a rival youth company called ACB! But after chatting with him we decided that it wouldnt be worth it as I might miss my flight! I was bloody gutted, cos alot of the lads had brought proper camo gear and helmets and looked the part!

So instead I walked along Auckland Harbour Bridge. I went across with the guide, a bloke and his son! It was proper windy and we went walking from underneath, right through up onto the top where the wind nearly blew us over! It was a good job that we were hooked in! There were great views from the top and the guide gave us as much information as he could- theres about 6 suicides a year from the bridge did you know!
So that lasted for 2 and a bit hours and was really good fun - we were pretty high up and all below you was either the sea or the main bridge road with cars flying along!!
I got back from there and showered, said my goodbyes to all the staff and jumped on the airport shuttle home!
Was a great week, gave me a good feel about hostels and how they are run, but mostly importantly it made me realise how much free shit me and gill can get whilst we're out here!! Made alot of contacts and they're all gona help whenver you want! So on the plane home I drafted a few notes on what I'd done in the week just work back in Christchurch thought I'd been kept on my toes!!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb