The big race and swimming with Huskys!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another two weeks gone and time to add to the entries!

I left you last time coming back from Auckland and the following week was all about getting a cold and looking forward to the half marathon!?! Not the best combination!

It was Queens weekend for us here which meant Monday off. The marathon was on the Sunday morning and by the time it got to Friday, Gill was suffering big time and I was (unknown to me) getting what she had!

Saturday 2nd June 2007

Today was the last of the big horse meets in NZ - in a place called Ashburton about an hour away. That started in the afternoon but I still needed to get my application down to the Town Hall so after heading to the Clinic for Gill to check the horses we went down and got our badges and stuff. It was packed, over 4000 people were doing it and there was all sorts of stands there selling cheap clothing and trainers. We got our 'goodie bag' and headed straight for Ashburton!

We got there and there was 4 races left. It was awesome atmosphere and we recognised loads of horses on the cards! We were getting quite regular!! I picked the winner on the first race and that helped pay for the afternoon - The Stig - always go for it - Top Gear and all!
The rest of the races Gill cleaned up- won them all!! Sweet! We were there with a few of the vets from Gills clinic so cheering only for horses being treated at their clinic was allowed!!
We came away in profit but feeling pretty dodgey, my cold was getting worse! That night I was recovered and lay in front of the TV thinking - if mum could see me now she wouldnt let me run this race!!?!haah.

Sunday 3rd June 2007

The race started at 9am so after a few bananas and muesli bars we were heading down to the start! It was packed, roads closed off, music blairing! It was great atmosphere and sunny day but was so gutted that me and gill hadnt had time to sort out our Batman and Robin fancy dress outfits, because not one other person was dressed up! (They take it pretty seriously here!)
Me being Batman obviously.
As usual, the start Gill bombed off. We had wrist bands with or split Km times on and mine was for 1.45 so I wanted to stick to that! We started at the front (tried to get on the photo!)and for the first 8ks I was being overtaken! But I managed it and it was only til 18K when I felt it hurting - the finish line was a welcoming sight and I sprinted in, past a few grannies and posted 1hr 45 - all went to plan! Gill finished 1.40 and we were both pretty happy as we werent fully fit or trained! Walking home was difficult as my calfs, thighs and feet all felt shit and my hip was playing up! I was broken big time - to Gills amusement!!
That afternoon, after a long bath we went to Governors Bay and Sumner.These are great little harbour towns - Sumner especially which has loads of bars along the beach! I was stil broke and walking was difficult - i got some funny looks and laughs as my hip was playing up! But i did manage to climb "cave rock" at Sumner - a big boulder on the edge of the beach! Gill said it was like Little Britain with the guy in the wheelchair - Gill turned round to take some photos and by the time she looked round again I was already up the rock!! It hurt tho!
That night we had the running club due! Very nice and at a Working Mens Club aswell! Classy! It was actually ruddy good, we got a good table we the only other young couple there and a few others who were decent and had a good laugh! I was broken and everyone took great delight watching me struggle to the dessert stand everytime! Gill was in her element, ripping me!!haha
Was great feeling finishing my first half marathon and especially in NZ - i kept thinking, everyone in the Uk is probable asleep and Im here slugging my guts out! But definitely fancy dress next time and a better time!

Monday 4th June

We had before hand planned to swim with dolphins the day after the marathon! It was a plan made in heist as we now thought that 45mins in the freezing water probably wasnt the best thing for our of aching bodies and colds!! But the day was great and so thought, balls lets get going!
The place was in Akaroa, 1hr or so away. A quaint little harbour town, hidden away in a bay just south of Christchurch.
The weather was great and we arrived and the water looked so inviting - real clear and green! Again YHA sorted us out and got us big discounts! There was 8 of us altogether in the boat going out, and they said we were real lucky to get weather like this at this time of year!
So suited up, Gill and I got a few pre dive pics and jumped aboard! It was great just standing out on the deck, Gill got snap happy again and the scenery was sweet! As we left the harbour we all we on Husky Dolphin look out!!
It took us about 40 mins to spot the first "pods". They were class, diving about around the boat! We had to wait to find out if they were swimming towards us or moving away, for us to jump in!
More and more came in and I got fully suited - snorkel and head mask! I was first in obviously! The girl gave me 2 stones to tap together under the water which she said the dolphins love!
The water was actually bearable and we were all in bobbing about waiting for the dolphins! Gill was panicing - she wasnt impressed with my "Shark!" calls! I was frantically banging these stones together and the guides onboard kept pointing out which direction the dolphins were coming-we were like sitting ducks!
After a few minutes they came shooting past, under water with the snorkel it was awesome, I was so tempted to grab one and get pulled around but no touching allowed!! We were in there 45mins, watching dolphins fly past it was great. A few people got out and Gill took some great pics of me splashing about and the dolphins! They seemed to like me and I had 4 swimming round me for ages which was awesome! Everyones shouting at you and pointing at the direction ur coming from you dont realise that theres 1 behind you or flying past!
We all were out after about 45mins and it was brilliant fun. My legs were all wobbly after but the hot chocolate sorted me out!! We made our way back to land, the sun was still beating down and me and Gill were smiling at another awesome time we'd had!
We got back, showered got our photos, which are well funny and headed along the beach front. Got got some fish and chips and basked out on the harbour, looking out at the great views!!Bliss.

Another great weekend done! Its getting quite regular now and by the time we'd got home we were already planning our next adventure!! If only every weekend was 3 days long!!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb