Day 59 Fraser Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 26th 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I woke up with the driest eyes and my contacts still in, accidental hazard of drinking sometimes. After taking the contacts out this is when the issues arose. I could hardly open my eyes because of the sun, they were stinging, I felt like I had something in them and I looked like I was constantly crying. For those who know me well wearing my glasses and no makeup is not something I do comfortably. I felt like this horrendous beast wandering around camp with glasses, tears streaming down my face and barely being able to keep my eyes open for more than 3 seconds. We tried so much to try and resolve. Saline baths, me squirting saline in my eye, other people doing it, Jeff himself using first aid eye stuff to try and clear it out. Unfortunately to no avail.



Our first stop of the day was to this creek in which you float along with the water. The journey there involved me closing my eyes and wrapping a towel round my head. Plus people guiding me along because at some points I just couldn't open my eyes without them streaming and my whole head ringing. I was thinking I can't be that hungover that I've partially blinded myself. I didn't drink that much the night before. This creek water is rain water that has been filtered through the sand so is incredibly clean. Upon Jeff's advice I was to try and open my eyes under this water as it might help.



This creek was really cool actually, very cold but it was nice and refreshing given the heat. It was a shame really that I couldn't especially appreciate it. Lots of bodies floated along in the cold water and you get gently swept by the current. I dipped my eyes in several times which was a really weird sensation given the coldness and the freshness of the water. Again however it was to no avail. I thought rather than risk it I might as well go and get checked at the medical station on the island.



Jeff was really nice and it was quite cool that I got my own private 4 by 4 trip – although I did have my eyes closed most of the time. He told me all the stories of things that had happened over the years on this job. All the interesting things he has done, he's had a pretty awesome life. We arrived at the medical station it was kind of surreal. The guy there was also a lovely man who did his best but said there isn't much he could do. He did give me extortionate amounts of saline, eye refresh stuff and syringes. Even offering me an eye patch and a towel. I obviously declined the eye patch because I would not be able to cope with the humiliation of it. All morning everyone had been joking about it and teasing me (which was kinda nice because it made the situation kind of funny rather than purely irritating).



After returning from the doctors we headed over to see the shipwreck on the Island. It is really interesting to see and looks really beautiful contrasting with the sand. It just showed partially the complex structure of a ship. Although so eroded and damaged it would have been hard to determine what it was.



This ship was used in the war, built in 1905, to look after soldiers who were injured. It swapped roles a lot and was eventually sold as scrap to the Japanese . It became shipwrecked when it was taken on route through Queensland when the Japanese hit a cyclone and this is where it drifted to Fraser Island and became bogged forever on the shore.




From this we then continued cruising along the sand to Indian head. Here we climbed up the hill to get an awesome view of the shores of Fraser island. Obviously another huge postcard moment. Also if you place yourself on the edge, carefully perch and look down into the water, it is clear enough that you can see the sealife. We spotted turtles and even a large mantaray. Although my eyesight problems meant I struggled to see them.



Our final spot of the day was a visit to the Champagne pools. This consisted of some rocks formations that trap sea water so you can float about in them not having to fight with the waves or anything. They were pretty cool, although I did spend a lot of the time in the shade with a towel over my face.



After this activity filled day we made our way back to camp to cook our steak dinner in the camping facilities. This was a really nice meal and our little team worked well together again. The syringe I'd been given from the medical station came in useful in more ways than one. I got Nick to saline my eyes firstly. It then became the new cup in the middle of the ring and fire. Later proceeding to be a means of squirting goon in people's faces. It was pretty funny to watch. I did watch most of the evening with my glasses, no makeup, and two pairs of sunglasses on as the camp lights were even hurting my eyes. Pretty funny evening to watch nonetheless. Far too much goon flying through the air the whole time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb