Day 60 Rainbow Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 27th 2014
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I was re given the gift of sight this morning! Thank you higher powers above. No horrible leaky eye problems and sun phobia. Already going to appreciate today tremendously. This morning we sadly had to pack up our little camp as we were leaving Fraser Island today. Tents away and as we were eating our breakfast, swag lizards joined us around the camp. They are these huge lizards that stroll about the camp with swag (hence why I have given the name swag lizards). Apparently they love eggs. So they were trying to sneak some eggs from the camp and stop us having eggs for breakfast. Seeing they had no chance and most people had actually already used up there eggs previously, they just climbed up trees and swagged around the campsite.



After this we hit the sandy road again. This time the destination was Lake Wabba, a lake right next to one of the deserts on the island. It made for quite the walk given that my flipflop was broken and popped easily anyway. Plus the sand was like fire. So pretty much for the whole way we played run to the next patch of shade. Lots of “oooh ahhhhh” like a Gina G song. In between the burns and twig pokes we did see our first big spider. It was a yellow and black one on its webb between some trees.



The fire footed trek was definitely worth it, this lake was amazing sat right next to a huge desert. The lake also doubled as a spa. Casually sitting there when some fish start nibbling us, forget your 10 pounds for 15 minutes or whatever it goes for at westfields when fish pedicures were all the rage, this nibbling was free. Although they didn't just stay to the feet so apparently I have dry skin on my arms.



The walk back was again a play of this shading seeking game because I tried with my flipflop and it broke every 2 steps. I am pretty sure I actually burnt my feet on the way back. It was ridiculous. So as soon as we made it back to the wet sand of the beach, I ran to paddle my feet in the sea. As did many others. We genuinely think we scolded our feet and they were bright red. Don't mess with the sun out here.

Unfortunately then we headed back to made sure we caught the ferry so it was my last go at sand driving. It is so cool and chill. A guy in the front car hadn't had a chance so got to do some driving so he cut my slot a bit but fair enough give the guy a chance. He did however drive one handed like some sort of pimp and wasn't following the paths laid out by the guide. So I was a bit on edge because he was just a bit too bloody blasé.



The ferry itself seemed to be having problems getting off the shore and unfortunately we missed the first one. We had to wait for the next one. The ferry was just a bit intense and yelly for my liking so I hid in the car until he calmed down and told us all to get out the vehicles. Simon took the drive back off the ferry which seemed a nice and circular end to the trip. This sand kind of through him off and we got bogged several times until Jeff ran across the sand like a rambo and drove us out.



Back on rainbow beach, we decided to utilise the boys marvellous luxury campervan for the night. Not sure if they wanted us to but I was dying for a proper bed so I insisted. They were staying in this luxury holiday park complete with a lovely swimming pool. I did however manage to jump in and lose my bikini top and break a bit of the strap clasp at the back. So dived in and basically streaked. Water and I seemingly results in flashing of some form



In exchange for us cooking them a curry, complete with poppadoms (definitely worth a nights sleep payment I think). We then headed to meet the rest our group for drinks. We also sorted out doing our washing as Fraser island sand life had covered all our clothes in sand and dust. Although the washing brought so many giggles, who even knows why, just because the washing machine obviously did not work and we kept trying to put it on and putting in loads of washing powder and it still came out dirty. Must have been high on the curry or something because we were wetting ourselves. Well mainly Nick and I anyways.





Wer headed to the Fraser's on rainbow bar in which there was a beatboxer/singer/didgeridoo player performing (man of many talents). He was actually pretty awesome. Even at one point taking requests of 80's classics to beatbox live and on the spot. I yelled in Waterloo obviously and he nailed it. Mesmerised by him and the surreal dancing he was inspiring in his audience, we all sat at a table watching him. Nick coming up with some pretty hilarious dance moves to the music that were relevant to our trip – my personal favourite I am now naming the dingo cross (had to be there moment I think). After the bar stopped serving drinks we headed back to the luxury campervan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb