An Idiot Abroad.... Getting to and around Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well the travelling has begun, after several hours of crap economy seating and feeling like Im upside down (lack of sleep is not good!) I finally made it to Perth. Perth is pretty cool, nice and hot, lovely beaches and some wicked bars to head out to in the evening. I knew the exchange rate wasnt going to be good, but man its expensive! and Sydney is worse! Better find a few weeks work soon.... or hope my car sells! Anyway, I'll tell you a little bit about my travelling so far....
Monday 17th Jan - leaving on a jet plane! The only bit worth mentioning is the fact my awesome dad surprised me on the train on my way to heathrow by getting on a few stops after me, and then kept me company and bought me dinner at the airport!
During my flight to singapore (12.5hrs :S) I did end up sitting next to a couple from Perth who gave me the lowdown of where to go, and even let me jump in their cab when we got to singapore to head to town. Unfortunately, I think there are several reasons why I could fit into the idiot abroad category right now:
1. I sent my main luggage direct to perth, but didnt pack shorts in my hand luggage so spent my first day in singapore and first day in perth dying from heat exhaustion and sweating like an animal from the arctic in the mediterranean.
2. The toilets in Changi (singapore airport) kept changing sides in different areas, so I managed to walk partly into the mens before some guy was like woah girl i think you want next door.
3. I went to rottnest island (amazing, strongly reccomend it!) and spent the day biking around it, thinking I was following the 10k route, I was actually on the 22km route! and had a mad rush when I realised I had only 30mins to make my boat but was still about 7km from the ferry terminal!
4. Whilst on Rottnest, I took nearly 3hours to spot my first of only six quokkas.... apparently there are thousands around! and I even stopped to ask someone after 2hours of not seeing one, what I was actually looking for!
5. Also on Rottnest, I went snorkelling - some gorgeous bays! I have been putting suncream on religiously for days whilst here, but forget that whilst snorkelling, its your back/shoulders that are in the sun.... yes I now have very sore shoulder blades!....

Ok now my idiotic moments are out of the way lets get on with what Ive been up to.... Nope, not much left to say!!
I have already met some awesome people, one of which is on holiday from sydney and has offered me a place to stay when I head over her way. Her parents were awesome too and offered to have a welcome to sydney BBQ when I get there... I have spent most of my time in Perth exploring places, doing a treetop walk in Kings park (no pics, forgot batteries for my camera! dammit), visiting Rottnest Island, and yes, you guessed it, hitting the bars with fellow backpackers! I love the west coast, and really want to spend more time here, but being on your own has its downsides, everything is twice as expensive (food, taxi home when too drunk to know where you are, etc) and I think my sanity could take a battering with all this extra talking to myself time..... So anyway, on to Adelaide tomorrow (24th January!) where after leaving me behind 8weeks ago (yeah my fault I know, damn hand!) I'm going to find Hayley and we're going to get right on the beer after I arrive.... well I want to drop my bag in my room first, hopefully she'll give me chance! Bye for now guys xxxx

Oh, dad - expect a parcel of my stuff to arrive in a few weeks... Ive packed way too much, seriously an umbrella? I never even really used it in the uk!!! Not to mention a scarf and jogging bottoms and a fleece?? and why on earth a long sleeved running top!! its too hot for that when not running! Its not even below 20c here throughout most of winter!

Advertisement



23rd January 2011

News
Hi Stacey Sounds like you've made a great start, lovely to read your blog , look after youtself & keep in touch love Gran maxx
23rd January 2011

My favourite idiot xxx
Well that made me laugh!!! You really are a nutter and after burning yourself for years you still haven't learnt x Enjoy the next stage and don't get too drunk with Hayley!!! NOT!
24th January 2011

Hey it sounds like you're having an awesome time, what the hell is a quokka??? I thought you might be sending some stuff home after you told me your bag weighed 19kg lol. Let me know when you get to Adelaide safely and good luck finding work. xxx

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb