Adelaide & Melbourne Antics


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Rod Laver Stadium
February 1st 2011
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the plane to Adelaide, I sat next to a lovely woman called coleen, who decided to give me a lift to my hostel when we landed. I thought this was great! She has even given me her contact details to go stay on her farm 2hours out of adelaide next time Im down that way!
So arriving in Adelaide, I met hayley at the YHA and went straight on the beer! After 3 or 4 with her friends, we decided to head back whilst having a tour of the city. Surprisingly, we found a bar with cheap jageybombs! so we stopped for that famous "one last drink". Next thing, a bunch of crazy americans came into the bar, the tequilas were bought by the bottle load and it turned into the best night! Its a shame how rough the next day became! We had 7hours to kill after a 10am checkout until hayleys mate finished work at 5pm to let us into the flat! Killer!! I left adelaide the next day, after celebrating australia day by rowing a boat around (or rather into the sides of) a lake.
We got to melbourne around midnight, and after 2hours of wandering around finding no bars ??? I gave up and went to bed. So the exciting bits from Melbourne.....
1. I jumped into a fountain and hit some stupid plastic bit they had in there, I now have a massive bruise on my shin on top of a rather big lump... oops!!
2. I went on a tour to Philip Island and got to see a Koala conservation centre, learnt how to crack a whip, throw a boomerand (admittedly I was one of the only few who it didnt come back to!) and got to see a thousand mini penguins jump out of the sea at the end of their day and wander back to their nests - amazing!! (it was bloody cold though!)
3. During my tour to philip island, we had a 20minute beach stop, surprisingly the only idiot that ended up in the sea, was me! I went for a paddle, and the waves were so strong I was pulled over, under the waves and about 20m out to sea... it might explain why i was so bloody cold in the evening!!
4. After a mere 5hours kip, I was up and on my way to Ramsay street (yes it had to be done!!) I got to meet Janelle timmons after seeing their set and getting the ultimate cheesy pics of me with the ramsay street sign in front of the hosues!
5. THE AUSTRALIAN OPEN - now how the hell did this happen?! on my tour to philip island, I began talking to a woman called Isabel. We were chatting about the tennis, and i said i couldnt believe i was here and not getting to see any. She then left me 2 grounds passes and a ticket for a free (what the hell are they called? brochure/manual things!?) in her hotel concierge. Amazing! So thinking it couldnt get any better, I headed off to the tennis with Hayley, we got union jacks painted on our faces, and thought we had to at least try and get tickets from tickettek.... they only had one..... but just as we were going to leave, the seat one away from the first one became available! so we jumped at the chance (may be coming home early after how much they cost!! haha) and got to sit 5 rows from the front for the final day of the open... AMAZING!!! We were even seen by various friends and relatives on TV waving our union jack and shouting! Shame Murray was utterly outclassed... keep training mate, chin up, Wimbledons around the corner!!!

Anyway, yet again I still havnt got around to putting pics up! But I will do soon!! I left Melbourne and headed on a 17hour coach journey to Sydney on the Monday... Killer!! But I am now in Sydney with Andy :D woo!!! see you later xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb