Arrival in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DAMODAMODAMO

Good to see a friendly face.
Well the plane journey was pretty uneventful (just as a plane journey should be), I did get a whole double seat to myself so I had to make the most of it and spread myself out making the most of my cattle class ticket. still it made very little difference to the amount of sleep I got as I didn't manage to get much more than 2 hours. Although when I arrived at my transfer destination Hong Kong I went to buy a coffee to revive my weary head only to find in my haste to be too organized I had left all my bank cards in the scanner back at my parents house in sunny Whitstable! OOPS! So I was flying to Australia with 30 dollars (Australian (about 20 quid)) and 17 dollars 30 cent (Hong Kong dollar (about 1 pound 13 and a half pence)). So a very quick phone call home to mum and dad to tell them how silly I had been, then a 12 second phone call to my wonderful girlfriend (yes I have to put that she is sat next to me now). Thankfully they all saw the funny side and Mum and Dad called Zoe and arranged to post my bank cards to Zoes aunty.

So another long flight this time sat next to a Chinese girl who didn’t speak a word of English and me speaking no Chinese so I had little choice but to sit there and to think and reflect about what I had done. In the end I decided it must be fate, I am to be a kept man. YEY! No more work for me! I’ll just send Zoe out to earn my money. Wow! I have got this made!

Getting off the plane, going through customs through the doors. I look to find my Zoe and far from the romantic sceen of running through a field toward each other with the music playing. Nope Zoe simply jumped on me saying “Hiya babe, missed ya”. Brilliant! Still the Zoe that had had left those 6 months earlier, I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. We arrive at the hostel which will be home for the next few days, Zoe treated me to our private room with a tv, fridge, air conditioning and everything.

Trying to sleep at that time in the morning seemed pointless
Whisper wallWhisper wallWhisper wall

Richie finds The whisper wall
as most of Perth had just got up, so in an effort to recover from my jet lag we went to discover Perth. Zoe had been out with my mate Damo the night before and had his number. We called Damo arranged a meet. It was good to see another familiar face even if it was just Damo, HA HA. (Sorry Damo). Good to see him and how well he is doing. We went on a quick tour of the city down to Cottesloe beach, wow nice beach. And what seemed like scorching hot weather 34°C. As I have found out that is about the average temperature for this time of year, but me just coming out from winter it’s pretty toasty. At leased I did remember my sun tan lotion! We finished my first day sat in the wonderful Kings park. The main reason for going to Kings park was to see the whisper wall that I had heard so much about. The whisper wall is a war memorial where if you sit at one end of the wall and your friend sits at the other you can whisper to the wall and hear each other perfectly, strange but
Me and ZoeMe and ZoeMe and Zoe

chilling in the shade
very cool. We spent the rest of the evening chilling in the shade in Kings park watching the parakeets and eating ice poles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



14th April 2007

Awesome photos buddy, hope your having an excellent time!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb