Onslow WA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Karratha
October 11th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

9-10-09 We took off early & got on the road into a head wind again, we cant seem to get away from it. We are on our way to Onslow, on the coast. There is not much to see a few mountains & its very dry. It is still hot about 29 deg. We got to Onslow & set up, this Caravan park Beadon Park Village $25 a night ,is very dusty & no grass , but they are all the same here as they have not had much rain . We travelled 360 km today. We set up the TV so den could watch the Bathurst 1000 car races & I had a sleep. We then took the girls for a long walk to the beach & along to the fishing harbour, we got back about 5pm & had happy hour & got tea. I have been bitten by sand fly’s & am scratching myself silly, I even have blood blisters on my arm from scratching. Den watched a movie & I posted my blog & played the computer for a while & went to bed (not for long though). I was up scratching for 5 hours & got back to bed at 5am, not happy.

10-10-09 I slept in & when I surfaced we had breaky & went to see the sights of Onslow (did not take long) it’s a sleepy village that supports a lot of miners & workers. There is just the basics , a supermarket, fuel & yes a pub. We went out to the point & saw the foreshore & the town has put a lot of work into making the beaches nice with sheds for picnicking. The beaches remind me of Derby a lot as the tide goes out so far & there are mud flats, which makes the water look dirty. We took a walk on the board walk across the Mangrove Swamps & saw where they were loading the salt into the ships. We then went out to 4 Mile Creek & had a look out there, where people were fishing. We stopped to see them loading the salt into transfer hoppers & then headed back to town & got fuel $1.45 c (gas was $1.20 so we left it there). We got back to the van & Den cleaned out the inside of the car while I tidied up & did some washing. We had lunch & Merry & Jim rang & we talked to them. I caught up on my diary & photos while Den watched the car races on TV. We had happy hour & & tea & watched Happy Feet the movie which was delightful. We had an early night.

11-10-09 Race day today & it was telecast live & us being 3 hours behind the race started at 7.30am , which was good. So we had a lazy day, I did not get up till 11am. After the race had finished we took the girls for a walk & then we went to the pub & had a couple of drinks & talked to a couple of locals there. The pub was very old & quaint, I forgot the camera again. Got to about 30 deg today, but windy here. We came back & I rang Merry to see about parks at Exmouth, & Den was talking to the guy next door. We had tea & an early night as we are off tomorrow. On the road again.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb