Road Trip to Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
September 20th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It’s final ! … We’re going on a road trip, travelling over 5000km to Melbourne from Brisbane return. We’ve already got our itinerary mapped out. I already booked our accommodation at Newcastle(NSW), Mansfield(VIC), Melbourne CBD, Dandenong and Port Campbell. If we still have ample time and energy, we might also stop over in Sydney and Port Macquirie on the way back. My heart was really set on a skiing trip to Mt. Buller. But I’m afraid we’ve already missed the skiing season. We are already well into spring and there’s only few patches of softening snow left up in the Victorian alps. I checked the weather forecast on ski.com.au and they were predicting snowfalls over the weekends. So, I’m still optimistic and hopefully get to ski to my heart’s content.

The other spectacular attractions I really want see in Melbourne are the “Twelve Apostles” (the magnificent 12 rock stack) in Port Campbell via one of the most beautiful 300km scenic coastline in the world - “Great Ocean Road” from Torquay to Petersborough. I also want to see the tens of thousands of Mutton birds return at dusk to their rookeries on Muttonbird Island as well as the shipwrecks.

It will also be nice to explore the Otway National Park and Dandenong Ranges and be immersed in the wilderness amongst the tall trees, cool fern gullies and waterfalls.

Two more sleep and off we go. I’ve already asked my brother to look after our dog while we’re away. Our car has already been serviced and conditioned for the trip. All I have to do now is pack.

Next adventure - coming soon ! ……. Cheers !


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.2mb