workinggg


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
February 6th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dear everybody

From Melbourne once again, am I bringing you this update, the last one for a while. Melbourne where I returned to chill out for a few days before I get to Perth to study, Melbourne where the time came to say goodbye to my last travelbuddy Joost, after a long time living and experiencing aussie lifestyle together day in day out, Melbourne where I spent an awesome Xmas, bbqing along the river, Melbourne, where I Chilled in parcs with awesome ppl, cuddling with- and feeding goon to possums:P Melbourne, where I met the little penguins and more.. Melbourne definitely is a good place to be during this time of the year, Christmas decorations and shows everywhere, with as highlight the projection show on the townhall building.. I had an awesome time with some new and old friends here, but then the time came to leave as always.. I left with a good reason though: I found myself a job after a while, at a dairyfarm about 4 hours from Melbourne.. I had a very good time here, learned a lot, experiencing what Australian dairyfarming means.. except for NYE, that was the most boring NYE ever, but I promished myself a lot of things that night, which made me able to live with it.. I am going to stay here for another year if it works out and I am going to visit a lot of places, listed are, Hawaii, Bangkok, Hongkong, Fuij, Tasmania and more:D
Now some of you may think what do you do on a dairyfarm in Australia, well.. everything you can think off really, waking up around 430 am, to milk up to 500 cows every morning and again every afternoon. Besides that things as getting the cows, BRANDINGGGGGGG, fencing, clearing roads from trees, fixing pumps, fixing roofs, weading the garden, digging holes to fix holes in waterpipes, cleaning channels, cutting down trees, cleaning ofcourse, fixing and maintenance of the rotary and everything and more had to be done.. my hands were ruined after a while, I didn't work for like 3 months, so they had to get used to it again:P and also I had a pretty hard time getting used to the early mornings. Another thing that was something else to live in/with sometimes was the heat during the day (high 30 – over 40 almost every day, where I read and heard about the snow/ice and minus x back home).. luckily for us Lake Hume was a 5 min. drive away to give us some refreshment.. and as long as i had some things to do during daytime, I was able to handle myself. I worked day in day out, some short days and also longer days, average amount of hours a week was around 50-60 or over, so, I wasn’t bored anymore after the first few days.. Then the bushfires started due to the heat wave and the tough wind, it came closer and closer.. but other than a bit of a smell at some point we didn’t see any fire.. I had my own unit to live in and food was provided against a small fare, but it was definitely worth it.. I had an awesome time working with the farmer and also his 81yr old dad! besides the job there was also some time for fun ofcourse, for example with an aussie bbq with jagermeister@release the beast:D yeah definitely a good period of my stay down under!! i might have forgotten stuff, or left stuff out for some reason, but i think its clear i am having a blast around here still😉

See ya in a while:D toedeledoki!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 101, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb