Day 3


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 16th 2014
Published: January 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Good morning to all!

Preparations are set in motion!

Boot camp body fit has been attended -30 days to change my body so I am fit and prepared for the trip that lies ahead. Responses received from volunteer hosts in Jamaica, car rental and tours in Africa and our flight will be booked in the next few days.

I cannot say that I am the most patient when it comes to planning these things but my wife is a saint I am sure with her levels of patience for organising (occasionally not with me for my impulsive nature!)

Unfortunately we may have to drop South America but plans are there to change and be flexible right? Patagonia may still be on the cards.

I am very excited about all things in motion right now and really cannot wait to leave the corporate life, hit the road, experience all that the places we are going to have to offer and most importantly enjoy the local beer and delicacies!

Will just comment briefly on the recent auction of a license to hunt and kill a Rhino in Africa that sold in the US for US$350,000 I believe - the reason behind selling the license is because the old male rhino cannot breed any more. I do not agree with this course of action and it upsets me that man is so willing to play god, the animals were quite happy and there first right? A similar situation to the elephant who turned the tourists car over recently, also in Africa, maybe if the tourists hadn't been following the elephant so closely and making it feel threatened it would not have been aggressive?

Nothing else to report right now, will check in again soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb