Oh, those Melbourne ni-ighhhhhts.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » South Yarra
December 16th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

Zoe's backseat is where sunglasses go to die.
Hey Everyone,

Not too much to report on right now, which in a way is really nice. A luxury I most definitely did not have on Contiki - being able to take it really slow, really getting to know a city, and being lazy if I want.
On Friday I did a bunch of laundry for Zoe and I, and did some cleaning a bit around her flat, and decided to unpack my stuff, rather than having my stuff kinda spread all over. Zoe's been so nice about letting me stay here somewhat indefinitely, haha, and encouraging me to feel at home, unpack in her room, etc. I am really lucky. Today she is taking a day off from me haha, to go visit her parents (her hometown is just a little bit away from the city.) I will be taking the train to visit Emily at her house. I'm really looking forward to meeting her mum, who I know she is really close to, and seeing her house, she lives closer to the beach!
This weekend has been lots of fun, lots of clique bonding - we miss ya Wattsy! On Friday night we had had the bright idea
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

at the backpacker bar
of going to a backpacker bar. When we were in Europe and stayed in Hostels, we always had awesome times at backpacker bars- Fusina comes to mind! We figured it would be a fun thing to do here, meet some other travelers, etc... Instead it was really quite awkward! The group of us that went out was me, Emily, Sal who is one of Zoe's good friends, Zoe and her sister Penny. We got in, me being the only non-Melbournian, we just felt far too stylish and all that... one quick drink and we didn't even need to discuss- we were outa there! Luckily Penny knew of a fun 80s night happening at a near-by bar, so we went there. Despite some seriously sticky floor vs flip flop issues, the other bar was a lot more fun for us. We managed to find ourselves a booth, and did a lot of sitting at the table dancing, people watching, and some friend making, haha. It really was a great night, and I hope you enjoy some of the pictures!
Other than that, not too much done this weekend, it rained yesterday, so all we really did was some grocery shopping and
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Some of the aforementioned new friends- what started as offer to take all of our picture turned into a bit of a group shot, hehe. Of the girls, it's Em, Zoe, Sal, Me, Penny.
napping... The other girls, Emily and Sari came over last night and we ordered Pizza and watched Clueless... quite a perfect night after the big one we had Friday.
I'm continuing to really enjoy myself... It's so nice to be able to hang out with these awesome friends, and to slowly really get to know this awesome city. I am also getting REALLLLY excited for the Whitsundays, I leave for that sub-trip in a week!!

Love ya'll lots!!

xx
angie


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

These are clearly girls after my own heart, who drink champers whenever we do drink... Also note my solid tan lines. Need to wear less beaters!!
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

the sisters Gibbs.


Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb