I <3 Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia&#039;s flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » South Yarra
December 13th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

Just another quick update to share how my time here has been going... I would just like to once again state that I LOVE Melbourne!! Sydney was great too, no doubt, but there's something about Melbourne- a little more chill, artsy, whatever, that I just love. I've spent some more time exploring Zoe's neighborhood, and yesterday found a nice cafe to have some lunch and read in before I met up with Mike, and we spent the afternoon exploring the Botanical Gardens. It was a perfect day to spend sitting under a tree, reading, and writing post-cards home (keep an eye on your mail-boxes!)

After that we met up with Sari and took the tram (what we at home would call the streetcar) into the CBD (central business district - downtown) we had a bit of a walk around, and then went to the Melbourne Night Markets. Pretty sure I'll be going there every week - I didn't take too many pictures, I was too busy taking it all in, but I'll be sure to take more next week. There they have all sorts of amazing international food, from Thai to Mexican to Ethiopian, as well as cool market stalls selling great hippie-ish traveler clothes, head scarves, jewelry, jams, wine-making supplies, etc etc etc. They also had a couple of massage therapists, and people doing nails and all that... Shana I haven't had a massage yet, but my friend has been to one of the massage school's and they have great student/traveler friendly pricing, so I'm going to do that soon! Last night I had a delicious Argentinian sausage, some dutch pancakes, and was tempted by so much more... Can't wait to visit the markets again!

Today Zoe and I had quite the (mis-)adventure. We were going to go shopping at Chadstone, a huge shopping complex here that is pretty well known... and, once we got there I learned is really awesome. I just found out from their website that they offer personal styling service, which I wish I could afford- in a mall that big, even I could use an expert!
On our way there we were going to stop at Monash University, where Zoe's mom works and she was to pick up some stuff she had left there... And some eggs. Anyways, it was nice to meet Zoe's parents, but after that, her car wouldn't start. We had quite a time waiting around for the mechanic, then being told the car would juuuuust make it if we drove it to a garage, being terrified we wouldn't make it, making it, getting to the shopping centre... then having to make our way back to the garage. By the end of it we were exhausted, thank goodness I got a bit of retail therapy in!

Tonight I met Zo's friend Sal who is just lovely, we had a great time hanging out, introducing Sal to the joys of facebook, and eating Thai take-away. Tomorrow I'm planning on doing some laundry, wandering around some more... then tomorrow night we're going to hit up a dirty backpacker bar, I can't wait!

Hope everyone's great... much love.
xxa


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Melbourne Night MarketMelbourne Night Market
Melbourne Night Market

lots of people enjoying all the offerings of the market
yummy treatyummy treat
yummy treat

Zoe had a meeting, so she skipped the markets... I brought her a beautiful strawberry chocolate cupcake!


14th December 2007

Amazing gardens
Do I dare to dream that Angie is getting bitten by the gardnen bug?! Makes this mother's heart proud!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb