Leaving Melbourne for a new Continent.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Richmond
February 25th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Andy MurrayAndy MurrayAndy Murray

On his way to the Australian Open Final
I know what you’re all thinking, "Oh no Tom and his blogs are back"! And yes they are!! This time you can follow me on my adventures and antics through South America. Starting in Argentina I plan to head south and then work my way up through Chile, Bolivia, and Peru and hopefully get to Colombia!!

Well the time has come and as much as I’m going to miss Melbourne I’m also really excited about what I’ve got planned for the next few months. Melbourne has been absolutely amazing, I could have never thought this time last year when I was breaking the news to mum and dad that I was moving out here, that it was going to be this much fun and I was going to meet so many awesome people. For those of you that don't know what I have been doing for the last 11 months I have been working for Melbourne Storm and Melbourne Victory in their retail stores and merchandise at game days. I don't think I’ve ever had so much fun at work (sorry dad!) the guys were all amazing and I think we were creating new nicknames for each other on a daily occurrence!

I've just got back from visiting the Kiwi contingent of Alex, Woody and the gorgeous Issy and Dylan! It was brilliant. Seeing Dylan for the 1st time, and now Issy is running the show over there, things are never dull, we even managed to take a trip to the Zoo where Issy feed a Giraffe! Colin was also there for the Christening of Dylan and I was especially proud as Alex and Woody asked me to be a god parent, so I’ve now sworn on the bible that I’ll do everything to keep Dylan on the straight and narrow. Woody also managed to take Colin and I to a Chiefs game (Super 14 rugby team for those that don't know) but unfortunately they lost. My time went all to quickly but it was awesome and now I have a great excuse to go back for the world cup in 2011!

I'm now back in Melbourne for my last week before heading to Buenos Aires, battling to save money but living up my last few days and enjoying the leaving parties.
It’s hard to pick some of my favorite times here but a few stand out such as Melbourne Cup day when the whole of Victoria stops to watch the horse racing and enjoy a beer or two and put on the odd bet!
Mum, Dad Nick Alec and Emma coming out for Crimbo and going to the boxing day test match and a fishing trip in the bay. Running the Melb marathon my 1st and who knows maybe my last time....
Sorrento for my birthday weekend where 20 of us took over a campsite and caused carnage with late night guitar sessions, touch rugby and swimming!!
Not to mention the music festivals and many many sunday sessions!

I thought it before I came here and I’m even more convinced now, Melbourne is clearly the best city in Australia and has to be one of the top cities of the world and i'm going to miss all my friends here so much!

So for now Adios and Muchas Gracias!
x


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

A view of sorrentoA view of sorrento
A view of sorrento

Where we camped for my birthday


Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 17; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb