Roughin' It


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DinnerDinnerDinner

I made dinner on Monday night....beef, onions and mushrooms cooked in teryaki sauce and served over rice.
First let me apologize that it has been so long in between updates, but my hope is that all you with the email that came earlier this week were able to be satisfied for the week. I have to say that things are just getting crazier here by the minute and so updates will probably be fewer and further between over the next 6.5 weeks.

This week went pretty normal...except just much less free time. I did give myself a break on Tuesday to go toss the frisbee with Theresa and Tom for a while. Also, yesterday, Theresa and I went to get a 50 cent cone from McDonalds. It's all about the little things these days. To say that I had a mini meltdown yesterday would be an accurate statement. I am pretty stressed out with school and some other things to begin with, but then I got home from my night class at 9 knowing that I still had a whole list of things I needed to get accomplished and I walk in to about 12 people in my living room screaming in Chinese and playing a drinking game. And I thought my Australian roommate was loud- this
ParkParkPark

The walk to the park on Williams Street
group put her to shame!!!! So, I tried to just crank up the music in my headphones and get to work, but the stress of it all just got to me and I kind of cracked. After a nice cup of tea with my roommate Ayako and a long, hot, relaxing shower, I was able to calm down, get focused and finish what I needed to get done. I ended up letting myself sleep in this morning and skip my morning lecture. She voice records them and puts them on the Internet for us anyway, so I figured it wasn't a huge deal and for my sanity, I could use the extra sleep. I have felt much better today.

This evening, we went and bought all of our food for our camping trip this weekend. Funny story. So, we were going to make trail mix, so we were looking for the pretzels at Safeway (the market). We asked one of the ladies that works there and she just looks at us like we're crazy and says, "what are those?" We just kind of laugh, having no idea how else to explain it and so we ask another lady that walks past and she has no idea what they are either!!! So, finally, we just went searching for them and only found one brand and a very small bag of them. We ended up running into them later and showing them what pretzels were....who knew! So, that was entertaining.

We were supposed to have like a group of 10 of us going camping, but 5 people dropped out for other plans or to stay on campus and get homework done...so, it's just down 5 of us: Craig, Tom, Theresa, Jorai, and myself. Have I mentioned that it's supposed to be a high of 11 and rain all weekend?! WOO HOO this is going to be fun! I think the chances for rain have gone down so hopefully it won't rain too much. But, we have a big old tent and lots of food to keep us occupied. We are leaving tomorrow afternoon after Craig and Tom get out of class so we should get to the campsite around 5 and get the tent up before it gets dark. Then, we're going to make ourselves some dinner (we got snags and burgers) before heading out on a night safari! We're hoping to see a lot of native Australian animals...should be pretty sweet!

Well, I'm going to get off of here and try to get the rest of my to-do list done before bed. I still need to finish my laundry, pack a bag, call Heather to say happy birthday a day early, make a CD for the road trip and then get to bed. We won't be getting back until Sunday night so I'll probably update sometime on Monday with pictures, etc. I'll include some pictures from the past week or so in this update, too.

Advertisement



11th October 2007

um..
Um.. Aussies don't know what pretzels are? LOL. That's crazy. They have them in the Czech Republic, but I have no idea what they're called. Our shopping experiences are basically "if you can't find it you're outta luck" because we don't speak Czech! At least you were able to ask, even if it didn't help! :)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb