In the City and on the Sea!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
December 8th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We have had the best two days! Its been brilliant...we love Melbourne City centre...its mighty frikin impressive! Kathleen Brian and I went in adn met Colm in there....as soon as we got out of the station my eyes just widened and I was blown away by its energy and architecture.
Its a mix of old and new yet the oldis more familiar than Perth...its the grand cathedrals and old stations...

We went to the top of the Rialto towers where you get a view of the entire city...then, funny enough...we went to...the PUB! An Irish pub at that! We had a good walk about like it wasn't just drinking and we took the tram around the city too. It reminds me a bit of London and bit of New York (even though I have never been there!)

That night we went back to Colm's and got blocked! T'was a great night. Which ended ina mad hatters kinda tea party...after the U2 DVD's but just before Colm could get Metallica on....(lucky escape!)

So the big day was today...our boat trip out to swim with the Dolphins and seals.
Slightly hung over and extremely nervous/excited.
Wet suited up and factor
Up Rialto TowerUp Rialto TowerUp Rialto Tower

Observation deck...or just another excuse for a beer?!
15'd we were ready to go. First we seen the seals out at the China mans hat...a free standing platform which is home to the seals. We are talking the middle of the ocean! scary biscuits...we're sitting on the edge of the boat ready to jump in with our snorkle gear on and I swear I was shaking all the way through my bones...in we plop me and Brian together into the ocean....i couldn't breathe...I paniced. I just kept thinking about the depth beneath me..my heart was palpatating and the life guard girl just saw my face and took me back to the edge of the boat. But what an experience.. Excilerating or wha! Brian stayed in for a wee bit then came out to sit beside me.
Was so crazy being out in the ocean with the waves crashing of the boat but after some thought and encouragment I managed to get back in and so glad I did. Brian follwed behind, swimming genius!!! lol. Went out near the seals and then back to the lovely dry boat.
Bye Bye seals.
And then the hunt for red dolphin. Went around Port Phillip Bay looking for the lovely wee dolphinos
Lou and ColmLou and ColmLou and Colm

Catchin up with the Cous!
but would you beleive it, after 2 hours none were to be found. Ah well we love them anyway! Louise reckons she has lost her ESP powers. Dolphins reckon shes mad.
But it didnt put a dampener on the day, infact it was one of the best days we've had! Out on a boat, the sun shining, swimming in the ocean, great company, GOOD TIMES!
Our dolphin meeting shall come another day, just one more reason to come back!

Its 40 degrees the marra, gee im sure its similiar back home. Its just too hot isnt it?!

We're both very happy and smiling loads. Miss ye's like, but wha ye going to do! Cant have it all.
Having picture problems, will upload some soon.
Hope alls well with one and all.
LouBriadventures.com.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Down the docksDown the docks
Down the docks

Kathleen,Colm and Lou.
Brisey's first tram rideBrisey's first tram ride
Brisey's first tram ride

It was a good one....spot the wee random punter in the middle...class
Mad Hatters PartyMad Hatters Party
Mad Hatters Party

Piss up at Colm's Gaff!
Kathleen, Lou and the sealsKathleen, Lou and the seals
Kathleen, Lou and the seals

This was after our ocean snorkle. I think my heart rate is just about settling....
Titanic part two...Titanic part two...
Titanic part two...

King of the world Ma...cept this version features a rather unattractive wet suit
The Four of Us Ocean InvestigatorsThe Four of Us Ocean Investigators
The Four of Us Ocean Investigators

After our ocean extravaganza...can you believe Brisey was in that ocean after only two weeks swimming lessons...my hero!!! He even had to bail me out a few times cause I was too scared, I needed him to hold my hand after all! Some coach I am!
Contemplation NationContemplation Nation
Contemplation Nation

Part two (or is it three?)


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb