Melbourne, Oct 30-Nov 3


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Bourke Street
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Melbourne


Christmas time in the CityChristmas time in the CityChristmas time in the City

October 30 in Melbourne Thats crazy early.
Modern transportation is a marvel. A mere hour in the sky and I arrived in Melbourne, Australia. It was a weekend trip from Thursday, October 30 to Monday, November 3. I had been looking forward to visiting Melbourne since I first flew to Australia. Since Melbourne is in the southern state of Victoria, I waited through winter so that the weather would be more inviting for my visit. The Spring racing carnival is an exciting time for many people.

The biggest event is the Melbourne Cup, taking place November 1-4th. Ben and Ziva, friends from Sydney (xchange) came along and we went to the Flemington Racecourse on Saturday with a group of Australians we met. The races are all about fun, fashion, and drinking, and so that’s what we did. After being explained some horse betting language, I put my $1 bet on a horse. After 3 small bets and two payouts I was up $5. But in the end I lost $1. It was good fun though.

Ben only came to Melbourne for one day so the rest of my explorations happened with Ziva. We stayed at Simons (CS) place which was downtown in the city and had a great view from his 36th floor, all glass apartment. Given that Melbourne is the fashion capital of Australia, most of my two days were spent shopping through the laneways and arcades. Sunday, I caught the tram down to St. Kilda and walked along the beach markets buying gifts. Ziva and I had lunch beachside and then walked the St. Kilda pier.
Unfortunately, Sunday evening and Monday morning we rainy. But nothing an umbrella couldn’t cure. While on a seek and find mission around the city for some of the southern hemispheres “best coffee” and a movie theater, Ziva and I ended up at the 1806 cocktail bar. We had read about it and wanted to brush up on our cocktail knowledge. Simply, the name, cocktail came about in 1806 and their drink book tells the history of drinks since that time. I ended up with a 1946-Mai Tai and the 1816-Rum shrub. Ziva and I were very pleased, all our drinks were delicious, fresh and excellently crafted.
Cheers to Melbourne! I love the city. It’s probably my favorite yet.



Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Melbourne 005Melbourne 005
Melbourne 005

Flinders St. Station
Melbourne 006Melbourne 006
Melbourne 006

video entertainment because dryers take so long to dry your hands
Melbourne 007Melbourne 007
Melbourne 007

Federation Square
Melbourne 008Melbourne 008
Melbourne 008

Design Museum
Melbourne 009Melbourne 009
Melbourne 009

I made it to Melbourne!! And I loved it.
Melbourne 011Melbourne 011
Melbourne 011

Laneway Shopping
Melbourne 012Melbourne 012
Melbourne 012

I love this city.
Melbourne 016Melbourne 016
Melbourne 016

Famous Block Arcade
Melbourne 017Melbourne 017
Melbourne 017

Had to have a stop.
Melbourne 018Melbourne 018
Melbourne 018

Picture does not do it, but all the McDonald's here are really nice on the inside with wood moldings and they are very clean.
Melbourne 019Melbourne 019
Melbourne 019

I wish this purse was filled with money.
Melbourne 022Melbourne 022
Melbourne 022

Ziva told me I had to get it.
Melbourne 025Melbourne 025
Melbourne 025

Mexican and margaritas
Melbourne 026Melbourne 026
Melbourne 026

Central shopping


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb