Out of touch


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
April 13th 2012
Published: April 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Am I out of touch with the freedom of travel as it used to be back in the 70's and 80's? There used to be a time when mobile phones didn't exist and the only means of communication was through a phone box and a short call necessitating dozens of coins thrust madly into the slot. The alternative was a handwritten letter and the need to specify the next post office up the coast to collect the response. I know people bemoan the pace of life and the challenge of finding a space where incommunicado is possible and I have to say I am not averse to technology but it is only a tool.

I have Evernote piling up with the plane tickets and hotel bookings I have made. I have Dropbox ever growing with files and folders I may need to access. I now have a blog (untried before) and I have a (low IQ) smart phone to use if I feel like it.

SO - Am I out of touch? Not with the available technology! But will I be "out of touch" - I hope so!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb