Heavy philosophical concepts - I'll get over it soon!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
April 20th 2012
Published: April 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Walking from work to the airport bus after dark, I noticed everything around me as if I hadn't seen it before. The line of trees through the park was more 'lined up' than ever. The cars passing by seemed cleaner and more shiny than usual. The neon signs outside the pub and the strip club were pinker and bluer than they had been.Down at Landy park under floodlights, the peep of the footy referee's whistle seemed fresher and more meaningful than I expected. And down there at the park, with each catch of the ball, with every tackle and pass, with every goal and cheer, the world was going on for the crowd and the players as if I never existed. Of course, to them, I don't but it made me wonder (once again) about the way of the world and the way the sun comes up on a new location every second and the inhabitants of that place blink their eyes and wake with the sunrise and get their breakfast (if they have food) and wash their faces (if they have water) and wake their sleeping children (if they have any) and go to their job (if they have one) and barely (if ever) think about the billions of others playing footy or going to bed or making love or going dancing all round the world. We rarely give a thought to the people toiling in the fields of far off countries while we bliss out on the beach or eat our dinners but everywhere, at every moment there are people living their lives the same as I am; some struggling to eke out a living, others exercising their bank accounts. I am one of the lucky ones. I have health, happiness, work and a future in a clean, exciting country without war or corruption or famine. So this trip will allow me to look, wide-eyed and keenly observing, at the the lives of others, to find out what they like and dislike about their lives, to talk with people about the games they play, the jobs they do, the families they love and the futures they have. And I will start to understand that whilst I am sleeping, others are waking to a life that is 'commonplace' to them but of enduring interest to anyone with an inquiring mind or a willingness to learn.
Woww - heavy! And I haven't even left the airport yet!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb