Spring is round the corner !!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Only 3 weeks left and Spring begins !! It never fails to amaze me how mild the Winter is here. No gritting of roads, no salt on the windscreen, no de-icer, no freezing dark Winter mornings...........................though I will always miss Gas Central Heating. It might not be as cold here, but it does get cold. The houses are very badly insulated (no double-glazing) the hot water tanks are outside (can you believe it?!) and heating is restricted to plug-in radiators and electric fan heaters. Getting up in a warm environment is now a distant memory. Coming home to a warm house.................a distant memory !!! At least it is a lot warmer in our present house than it was in the log cabin on the mountain in Fern Tree where we lived before!!! Ah well - one thing that is definitely better in the UK !!!
Ivor, George and I went for a walk last week - another beach, which was very beautiful, and a walk (with pram) along a sheltered cliff-top path. The weather was amazing and the light and views spectacular! There was a slide, on which I went with George, and I also thought it would be great to give George a paddle (remembering my sister's visit and Josh's first paddle). The only thing is - it is Winter - and I don't think my poor little boy was too impressed by having his feet dunked in freezing sea water...........and then he was splashed by a big wave and I had to take his trousers off, with no spare clothes to replace them !! What kind of a mother am I?!!!
Roll on the Spring !!!!! and only 4 more weeks until the hols ....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb