Blimey......time flies !!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
July 17th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Baby CarrierBaby CarrierBaby Carrier

Ok ..........where are you taking me?
Well..............George is almost 6 months old. Where on earth did that time go? He is a hefty 9.5 kilos/22 pounds ish and is becoming more entertaining by the day.
It is only 5 months until we go back to the UK for a visit...........I can't wait for him to meet all his cousins,aunts,uncles, grandparents etc (though obviously my mum has already seen him and she misses him lots!)My sister (all being well) is having another baby in November (another boy- 5th grandson for mum - no grand daughters) so that will be very exciting to see him too. I am also looking forward to Christmas in the cold. It really doesn't seem like Christmas when it is hot and light..................though not so keen on the UK Winter as a whole. Fortunately the weather here is still good into February and March, so we won't miss the Summer entirely. Winter here is very mild anyway and nothing like the UK. We have even had some warm days the last couple of weeks (18 degrees - in Winter!!)
Work is going ok - 3 days is perhaps a little too much and I am not really enjoying an aspect of my work on a Monday but it's all good experience, I suppose. The ESL work that I have been doing and literacy support has been fantastic and I have really enjoyed that.
I have made some really excellent friends at the mother's group and it is really interesting comparing George with the rest of the bunch (mostly boys..........Soloman,Hugh,another George,Gabriel,Alex and two girls - Imogen and Emily) George is definitely the bruiser of the bunch, though Alex is not far behind him. I catch-up with his mum 'Sarah' for a coffee and a walk along Sandy Bay Road (has amazing views across the harbour) most Fridays. I also see Gabriel's mum fairly frequently. Both Ivor and I meet with her and her husband, Patrick reasonably regularly.
Ivor and I have taken George for a couple of bush walks which have been good. There are so many beautiful walks very near to where we live so we are very lucky. I can't understand why people would want to live anywhere in Australia other than Tasmania, as it is so much more beautiful here and doesn't have the traffic or people of elsewhere.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Jolly JumperJolly Jumper
Jolly Jumper

So they are my feet !!!


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb