Sailing the Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm beginning to think that perhaps Saturdays are just good days for me on this trip, last week I had the amazing trip to the Great Barrier Reef and I honestly didn't think it could get any better than that, but today came pretty close. Again when you see the photos be prepared to be insanely jealous!

Today I went sailing in the Whitsundays. It was just spectacular, total food for the soul. We first sailed out around Whitsunday island & Hook Island and then we stopped at the side of the island to take a walk up to the lookout - oh my god it was so stunning up there, really it was a feast for the eyes - I could have stayed there all day long! You could see absolutely huge stingrays just swimming below us.

Then we moved on to Whitehaven beach where the sand is just so white - think it's got something to do with the silica content of the sand. The water while it looks divine in the photos was actually quite cold, but lovely nonetheless. We got to spend an hour and half on the beach before heading back to the boat for lunch - that hour and a half was just total bliss!

Next it was on to our snorkelling spot, I've posted a photo of where we did it and it really looked pretty ordinary in comparison to the Great Barrier Reef - but it was equally as beautiful if not more so down there. I got to see a huge turtle and loads of different coloured fish and plenty of jellyfish - was never so glad I opted for the stinger suit!

I met lots of lovely people on the boat, including a couple of Midleton and sure enough we both knew same people! The trip back to Airlie Beach was stunning, the water was like glass, the sun was beating down, there were lots of whales in the water, a couple of pods of dolphins & the moon even began to come out. A fantastic end to a truly special day! Jealous yet?!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Me at the lookoutMe at the lookout
Me at the lookout

I know all the scenery are boring!


29th July 2007

Very very jealous
oh it looks amazing!
31st July 2007

Whatever!!
Been there, done that....:P

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb